peace to you…

September 10, 1928-December 26, 2010

Daddy this is for you:

He served in the Navy for 20 years. He was a good, kind man.

He was a loving Father who was married to my mother for 50 years.

They are together now.

I am happy for them!

I love you Daddy…I will miss you.

<3

This entry was posted in family, heart, home, spirit, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to peace to you…

  1. Suzanna says:

    Thinking of you, wishing comfort for you…

  2. Gina says:

    What a lovely tribute to a great dad, who smiles down from heaven with your mom now. How lucky they both were to have such a nice family and many years together! I hope your heart will continue to lighten as the days pass and you have an amazing new year (:

    • ancientcloth says:

      Dear Gina,
      I do see him smiling from heaven…..
      Yes, they were blessed to have one another for as long as they did here and
      now they are together again.
      Thank you for your comforting words <3

  3. You look so much like your father. What a beautiful testimony that you parents were married for so long and now joined together. I will be thinking of you and your family as your heart swells with the memory of your father. Peace.

    • ancientcloth says:

      One thing is for sure; I did not have a lot growing up but, my parents loved one another and knew each other all their life.
      They loved us too!
      I kinda do take after my Dad.
      Thank you<3

  4. Peggy says:

    Words leave me. But thank you for sharing. xoxo Peggy

  5. Dear, dear Marie… I feel so much for you and yours. My heart goes out to you and I hope and pray that the thoughts of all the many happy moments spent with your Dad will comfort you. When my own mother left at Christmas six years ago, someone told me *Leaving at Christmas is like a new birth*, this is what I feel like sharing with you today. Much love. Isabelle

    • ancientcloth says:

      Dear Isabelle,
      What a lovely way to describe *leaving at Christmas*.
      I am smiling because I can imagine my Dad would choose to be “reborn” at this time.
      Thank you for sharing about your mother with me <3
      Thank you for your comforting words.

  6. Oh, Marie, I am so sorry for your great loss. And how sweet of you, how like you, that you should think right away that now he is with your mother. What a wonderful photo of you and your dad together. I know your whole family is drawing close together, and my prayers and thoughts are with you, too. Love, Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      I knew my mother would be waiting for Dad. Somehow that gave me great comfort.
      I am not able to attend his funeral today but, I am there in spirit and appreciate
      your prayers and thoughts.
      Thank you for being here Kari <3

  7. Wendy says:

    I am SO sorry for your loss.
    There are no words i could say that would make you feel better, but please know that i am thinking about you.

    I enjoy coming to your blog… I love your “work”. (Everything you make is so beautiful, i imagine it isn’t “work” for you, but Joy instead.)

    My heart goes out to you.

    =-)

    • ancientcloth says:

      Just you leaving a comment and stopping by are enough. : )
      Thank you for your thoughtfulness.
      My “work” is my joy…I just wish I had more time to devote
      to it now.
      Thank you for your kind words <3

  8. Patty M says:

    I can feel the love he created in your family. Lovely memorial for a good man.

  9. Julia Moore says:

    Blessings for you and your family in the New Year…may your losses be slowly eased over time, til only sweet memories remain.

  10. Diane says:

    I have lost both of my parents and I know that no words can ease the pain but know that there are people all over the world that are keeping you in their thoughts and prayers.

  11. mendofleur says:

    Losing a parent at any age is not an easy thing. Memories sustain us though, and this photo of you and your dad is so very beautiful. May you find comfort in the strength of these moments.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Phyllis, I want to tell you about something that happened last night. I received a phone call from my sister and she said one of the caregivers, who stayed overnight with my 97 year old grandmother said that
      my grandmother was reaching into the room. The caregiver asked my grandmother what she was reaching for and she said, “Ed”. The caregiver asked her again, “You are reaching for Ed?”. My grandmother,
      again replied, “Ed”. My Father’s name was Edwin or Ed. He had come to visit my grandmother and she could see him!
      I know it was my dad coming to let her know it is ok to leave and that he is waiting for her and so is my mother (her daughter). Although I know my loved ones are near, it is hard because we can not “see” them.
      My dad had known my grandmother all his life. He actually threw her newspaper when he was a little boy. When he heard of my grandmothers condition; he was more grieved for her than himself.
      My Dad was 82, but i felt my time with him was too short.
      Thank you for your kind words. <3

  12. magnolia says:

    Beannacht
    (“Blessing”)

    On the day when
    the weight deadens
    on your shoulders
    and you stumble,
    may the clay dance
    to balance you.

    And when your eyes
    freeze behind
    the grey window
    and the ghost of loss
    gets in to you,
    may a flock of colours,
    indigo, red, green,
    and azure blue
    come to awaken in you
    a meadow of delight.

    When the canvas frays
    in the currach of thought
    and a stain of ocean
    blackens beneath you,
    may there come across the waters
    a path of yellow moonlight
    to bring you safely home.

    May the nourishment of the earth be yours,
    may the clarity of light be yours,
    may the fluency of the ocean be yours,
    may the protection of the ancestors be yours.
    And so may a slow
    wind work these words
    of love around you,
    an invisible cloak
    to mind your life.

    ~ John O’Donohue ~

    (Echoes of Memory)

  13. serenapotter says:

    much love to you during this time.

  14. Deb says:

    this post made me very glad I booked my flight to be with my dad on his 87th birthday coming soon. we take so much for granted. thank you.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Each moment is a gift and precious. I am happy that you will have the opportunity
      to spend time with your dad. Have him share stories with you and hold them in your heart.
      Time goes by so quickly. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting. <3

Leave a Reply

