Winter Soul-stice

CC License View

I wanted to create a moon to represent the Winter Solstice.  With each new Solstice I can always feel  the changes taking place on every level of life.

I cut out an angel to look like a shadow just because I liked the effect of it.

When I looked at the completed picture I thought about angels and how they are unseen but, with us. So, the shadow effect was just right for the picture.

I created this picture not knowing what I was about to be told….

CC License View

I try to always write happy and positive words but, life gives us both the good and the bad or happy and sad, etc.

“But it seems to be true that we cannot have joy without its opposite, we cannot have light without the dark. Try as we may.” — Kari   writingupastorm.typepad.com

I received the sad news that my 97 year old grandmother is going to leave this earth at any time now. She told my sister she had been to heaven while resting and was ready to go.

I am sure there are angels with her and angels waiting on the other side. “Angels” being perhaps my mother (her daughter) waiting for her and my grandfather.

I also got the news that my Dad is not well and will not be here much longer….I am sad because I will miss my Dad and my Grandmother . I can not be with them now. It gives me comfort knowing my sisters are watching over both of them in my absence.

For various reasons I was led to write a letter to each of them because I can not be with them. They may not be able to read what I have written but, I thought perhaps the letters

can be read to them.  It would be useless to call my dad because he can not hear me over the phone.

How do you say goodbye in a letter?

I sat at my desk  tearfully asking myself that question. Suddenly,  I looked up and saw this book that I bought quite a while ago but, was not ready to read it when I bought it:

CC License View

It is as if the title stood out to me when I looked at the book shelf.

When I bought the book I had no idea when I would ever read it. I just knew that I liked Sylvia’s books and have always learned a great deal from them.

I began to read and it gave me a peace about everything. There really is no death only

change. I am not certain what each day holds but, I find comfort  knowing that there

is more than what I ours can see or our hands can touch.

<3

On a happier note…..

I thought I would share what I have been doing on my time off….

CC License View

I covered these unattractive 1950’s chairs with scraps of fabric. I spray painted the legs with a silver paint. I covered 4 of them with various scraps and thought I would share a bit of two of them. (please disregard the black thread that did not get cut away and the fuzz)

CC License View

I used my Guatemalan fabric for one of the chairs.

CC License View Also, I worked on this little book….

AND

A lovely surprise came in the mail….

CC License View

This lovely fabric from:

isathreadsoflife.wordpress.com


CC License View

I can not wait to start stitching with these lovely bits of African fabric. Thank you so much Isabelle <3

CC License View

While at an Antique shop I found these needlework pieces….This one made me smile! : )

“The hurrier I go, the behinder I get”

CC License View

I am always touched to find such things…I imagine the time and love that someone put in to these pieces and why they were willing to part with them.

I also found this antique  Christmas postcard from the mid 1800’s…

I also found this lovely antique Christmas card.

I wish you and your family a Merry Christmas or whatever you celebrate….

and much Peace in this time of transition from one season of life to the next.

<3

This entry was posted in family, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Winter Soul-stice

  1. “Winter Soul-stice” ~ that is so beautiful! And I am so very sorry you are facing two such huge losses in your family. I know how hard that is and I will be keeping you especially in my thoughts and prayers and in my heart in the days to come. I believe in many kinds of angels and I do think we are always surrounded by them. May a great company of angels stand over you and keep you safe. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      I believe in many kinds of angels too.
      Angels can be “words” and your words are angels to me.
      I felt the word solstice is really about our Soul going through a season/change…thank you. <3

  2. chris gray says:

    You will be given strength to deal with this. Know that.

    …I’ll think of you when next I go journeying…

    …and leave a pebble in the lake of souls…

    • ancientcloth says:

      Dear Chris thank you so much…
      that means a lot to me. I know I will walk through this
      “fire” and somehow find the strength to move through it.
      Your kind words mean a lot. <3

  3. deb g says:

    Peace…sending you a hug.

  4. Suzanna says:

    i love your soulstice cloth Marie…I’m thinking of you now during this time of change…

  5. Gina says:

    I am so sorry to hear about all the change happening with your family – its a tough time of year to get such news, not that there’s a great time for it…I think writing the letters can only be beneficial and give you much peace, as does all the ways you make beauty with your hands every day. Merry Christmas, Marie! I will never forget our LA Christmases!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you Gina <3
      I will never forget our LA Christmases either.
      We are only "dancing" here for a short while
      and I am grateful for the moments we shared.
      Christmas is about family and loosing those we love at this time
      is sad but, I must accept what is before me. Thank you for your kind words.
      Merry Christmas to you and your sweet family.

  6. There is such feeling in your “angel clothe”…and then with the news of your special loved ones it makes it all the dearer.
    I love your chairs. What a great way to use you Guatemalan fabric that you got from your friend in TX. It is kinda like having your friend with you.
    Also love your little book, which I think you have been working on for a year now. Is that a stamp or did you draw that. It is really nice. I have also been trying to get some projects that I have had for a year done…before the new one.
    The African printed fabric is a treasure as are the post cards and cross stitch cloths.
    I can’t wait to see how you incorporate the African prints. You have such a way of putting things together so it flows.

    • ancientcloth says:

      You are right about the book and yes it is little stamps for the letters.
      I hoped to finish it for #1 daughter, but, I did not quite make it. I had
      not collected enough paper items. I will continue working on it bit by bit.
      Yes, my cloth will be a memory cloth and mark a period of time for my loved ones.
      I am looking forward to using the African fabric but, I need some reflection time first.
      Time to sit and be quiet and focus. Thank you for your kind words <3

  7. Peggy says:

    I wish you strength as you bid your loved ones farewell for now. It’s still hard even though, you know.
    All your work is wonderful–the soulstice cloth has a definite message and you must feel very in tune with your angels. Don’t you love it that you allowed that to emerge?

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you for your kind words.
      I believe we all have angels with us and we
      each have a guardian angel.
      I am thankful for the creative gifts I am given.
      <3

  8. Treena says:

    Marie:
    I just discovered your blog (via SpiritCloth) and was so sorry to read of the passing of your Dad.
    May I share something that a nurse told me a few months ago?
    I was relating to her a dream that my (almost 90 yo) Mom has occasionally about passing over-something there ahead but she doesn’t quite articulate the details.
    Anyway, this nurse (who used to work in a hospital and has seen quite a few people die) told me that almost everyone when dying, ‘religious or not’ (in her words,) tells of seeing people they know waiting for them. And they are not afraid of going.
    So I think you’re absolutely right-your Dad and Mom are together again. Not on our plane anymore, but on another and together again.
    I believed anyway, but her anecdote still cheered me up. Hope it helps a little to heal your heart. Peace and good wishes for the new year.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Dear Treena, thank you for your words. I had been reading a book recently that spoke of the “other side” and the book confirmed just
      as your nurse friend described that those we love are waiting on the “other side”. It brought me great comfort and confirmed some things
      I intuitively knew. I really appreciate you sharing this with me and stopping to comment. <3

  9. A wonderful post of sharing joy and sadness, both so much part of life. Death is part of our life too and accepting it as such brings us peace and gratitude that our path crossed with those of our loved ones. Writing letters to someone, alive or no longer here, is deep and beautiful way of expressing one’s feelings. It helps going through the grieving time. The last words of a very dear friend who left last May in tragic circumstances were :”I did not think it would be so easy”. He was at peace and brought us peace too. I hope it was the same for your dearest Dad. Thinking of you very much, Marie.
    I am glad you are pleased with the African fabrics :)
    The “soulstice”, word and artwork, is simply beautiful !

    • ancientcloth says:

      Yes, we must have both joy and sadness, light and dark, etc. It is the balance…
      Thank you for your encouraging words.
      Gratitude is a word I am reminded of every day.
      I was not with my Dad when he passed on but I understand He had slipped into a coma.
      I prayed for peace for him…I believe he was given tender mercies.
      Thank you dear Isabelle <3

Leave a Reply

