following along…

CC License View

I have decided to follow along with Jude at spritcloth on the Holiday trees…

spiritcloth.typepad.com

She has a couple of wonderful videos where she is explaining what she is doing.

She makes you feel right at home and makes it easy to follow…

: )

CC License View

and well, of course it was so much fun cutting them out and deciding on what fabrics to put

together I chose to cut out enough to make some Christmas/Holiday postcards too!

I had to use the hand dyed turquoise fabric for a tree…he!he! he!…so me!

CC License View

This picture has corduroy tree trucks from some fabric “gifted” to me…..

Also, I used a bit of wool I had for one of the trees…love working with wool. I just need

to collect more of it.

I have cut out more. I will share them when I am finished stitching them.

CC License View

I have been looking for bakers twine to wrap around gifts but, had not found it locally.

Luckily, I found this  cotton yarn that will do nicely and it was inexpensive…I like that!

Lastly, I was going through some pictures on the computer and look what I found…?

CC License View

shhhh….don’t tell…….

A picture of my very shy #2 son that he took while walking in the woods….

He has a beautiful smile but refuses to smile big for the camera….

Have a great week!

<3

This entry was posted in art, family, fun!, gift, heart, home, postcard, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to following along…

  1. Gina says:

    What a find! Whenever I get a pic like that, I can’t help but share it – rarely do teen boys show teeth when they smile – why is that? And he has the same hair thing going on as Dylan (:

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think they do not show their teeth because they think it is “not cool” or something lol!
      Not really sure…hmmm.
      His hair drives me nutty! :) But, what can I do?
      If it were up to me he would have a nice shorter hair cut!

  2. chris gray says:

    Lovely tree panels…..

    …they’ll be great when stitched :-)

    Lovely #2 son too…

    …but don’t tell him, he’ll get embarrassed ;-)

    • ancientcloth says:

      Those little tree pictures are fun!
      Love to come up with the fabric combination s….
      Now to find the time to stitch : )
      Awww….thank you, regarding my son.
      He would be embarrassed if he knew I put his picture
      on my blog!!!! : )

  3. Ger says:

    You don´t need to do another stitch on the turquoise mama trees + baby trees – they are already completely enchanting…

  4. mendofleur says:

    I have been watching Jude’s instructions too but cannot stitch along. I love what you are doing here.

    Your son’s photo is so sweet.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I may not be able to complete the holiday tees as
      quickly but, it will be fun following along when I can :)
      Thank you <3

  5. jude says:

    good to see you stitching along. is that snow fabric on the bottom the back of something or just that kind of pattern?
    I have a camera shy man over here as well…..

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! : )
      That snowy fabric on the bottom is actually just that way.
      I am really going to be on the lookout for more fabrics like that…
      What is it about men and cameras? lol

  6. deb g says:

    Laughing, I can never get pictures of my brothers unless they don’t know I’m taking the photo.

    So sweet those trees…

  7. Sharon says:

    Lovely! I’m following along too but my cloth has taken a turn in a slightly different direction.
    Sharon at e14studio

  8. In your top photo, I love how the snow in the night sky floats into that one tree, and then how the color of the snow in the tree on the right is the color of the tree on the left. So beautiful! And your son is a sweetheart! I married a kind, shy man, and I have a photo of him your son’s age that is so much the same, they might have been brothers. Long live men with good kind hearts and beautiful secret smiles! I am trying to post again. Soon, maybe. xoxo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh Kari, I can’t wait until you return…I have missed you!
      Men with “kind hearts” are a treasure for sure : )
      I still have to finish stitching all those tree pictures….
      I am busy for sure. <3

  9. What lovely Christmas trees you are sewing ! I love those turquoise snow flakes and the pretty snow-fabric. I have not done much quilting for this Season, just took my past year Christmas decorations out of their boxes. Your and Jude´s little trees are inspiring for any season really, imagine a big colourful magical forest ? One tree each month according to he colours of nature.
    As for your handsome boy, I think he is smiling with his heart, just as beautiful !

    • ancientcloth says:

      Those little trees are so much fun because they are easy
      but, I have done very little stitching lately : (
      I have only finished one of the little tree pictures.
      What a great idea…stitching a tree a month!
      I think my son is smiling from his heart <3…he is such a dear and kind boy.
      Thank you <3

Leave a Reply

