Dia de los muertos

CC License View

Today I lit a candle to remember my mother…

Sometimes my daughters, do things that remind me of her and sometimes

when I look in the mirror I see her staring back at me.

She was one of the kindest and most gentle people I ever knew….I miss her.

<3

CC License View

Also, just a little more stitching on Alice In Wonderland….

: )

This entry was posted in art, ceremony, embroidery, fabric, spirit, symbols. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dia de los muertos

  1. What a sweet tribute to your mother! I lost mine nine years ago, and I never stop trying to turn to her when I need her. This past month I’d have given anything if I could have talked to her one more time. You are one of the kindest and gentlest people I have met in the blogworld, so you must be just like your mother, too. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      Kari, thank you so much <3
      I left home at the young age of 18 and although
      I would call my mother on occasion and see her at Holidays; I never really got to know her the way I wanted to.
      When my 3 youngest were 2,3, and 4 I moved 5 minutes away from her. I was so happy because I thought it was
      my chance to get to spend time with her.
      Within, a few short months she died unexpectedly. The night before I told her on the phone
      I loved her but, I was left with the sense that I never really got to say all the things I wanted to say.
      I, like you, have wished so many times I could pick up the phone just to hear her sweet voice and be comforted.
      I found out so many things about my mother after she was no longer here…wonderful, sweet things.
      It is not that we were not close, it was just that my parents were very "reserved". I guess you could say
      old-fashioned. You have brightened my day : ) thank you. <3

  2. chris gray says:

    ..it’s good to not only remember…but to talk to those that have passed out of our current plane of existence…

    I like to think they can still hear our thoughts.

  3. Suzanna says:

    When I grew up we had no special day for remembering those gone before us, and I’m grateful now to be aware of dia de los muertos, each year wanting to honor them a little more…That skull is perfect.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I had heard of this day as a child from friends who celebrated it but,
      it never really meant anything to me until now.
      I like that it is a day to remember those we love and that is what it is about
      to me.
      My daughter took the picture of the skull fabric and
      made it a negative…pretty fun! : )

  4. What a moving testimony and answers to your words. My own sweet maman left seven years ago at Christmas, not a day passes without thinking of her or wishing I would have talked more with her. Now I write in my diary what I want to tell her, it helps and makes me feel closer. I like it that you lit a candle for your mother, I also like when people tell me I look just like her :) Thank you Marie for these moments of remembrance.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am sure she smiles down upon you and hears all your words…
      I can say I know how you feel and what it is like to miss a mother…Hugs to you <3
      I like your idea of writing in a diary….thank you! : )

  5. mendofleur says:

    What beautiful memories and words about your mother. I think as we get older our parents are remembered in more vivid ways and we long to ask them questions.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think you are so right. Maybe we remember our
      parents in a more vivid way because we have more
      life experience and can see things that we never saw before.
      <3

Leave a Reply

