I am still here….

CC License View

My daughters and I went on a charity walk…..

(Oh, and for the record, I did ask my son #2 to join us but he

smiled and declined the offer.)

I am wearing layers and layers of clothes because, although it is sunny, it was cold!

It was in the 40’s brrr!

CC License View

later on in the day, I was taking daughter #2 for a sleepover at a friends,  and on the way

home daughter #3 and I saw this…..Wild Turkeys crossing the road right in front of us!

I told daughter #3 to quickly hand me the camera and I snapped the pictures through

the front window of the car.

CC License View

 

CC License View

of course we have been enjoying the full moon….luna!

CC License View

and our new cat LUNA…she has a big heart shaped spot on her back <3

(she just drank water and ate so, she has something on her “chin”)

She is very smart and sweet.

CC License View

A chicken re-do…This is a piece I made a while back and I put it in the “no-likey”

pile because I was never satisfied with the beak. This morning I picked it up and ripped

off the old piece and re worked the beak. The chicken is made of linen and the stitching on it

is linen thread.

CC License View

Lastly, I have made this little proud chap.

A tiny “Jack, the pumpkin king”.

He  fits in the palm of my hand.

CC License View

I made him out of the new wool I bought .  It was so much fun because wool

is easy to work with. He seems to be looking upward and thinking about

something…..hmmm, wonder what?

CC License View

The local fabric store had patterns on sale for 99 cents and I could not resist

this one. Daughter #3 was with me and was rolling in the floor with laughter

but, I told her I wanted to make the dress because it reminded of dresses I used

to wear from Laura Ashely.  I also explained that I actually like wearing

dresses with winter tights.

This is my “someday” project.

I will make it shorter….

Time for some sleep zzzzz

: )

 

 

This entry was posted in art, doll, embroidery, fabric, family, friends, fun!, heart, home, moon, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I am still here….

  1. Mary says:

    I absolutely love the chicken piece! Just perfect!
    Great face on Mr. Pumpkin…
    and as I was taking my son to school we had a group of wild turkeys crossing the road too…I had forgotten about it until I saw “yours”!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you Mary <3
      Have you ever noticed when your doing a face
      on something that it always emerges in a way
      that surprises you? I think I will make it look one
      way and then it turns out another but, in a good way.
      Those Turkeys did not seem afraid at all! : )

  2. deb g says:

    I think wool is easy to work with too…just have to simplify the seams a bit sometimes. Stay warm! Gooble, gooble… (spell check doesn’t like my gooble!).

    • ancientcloth says:

      Ha! Did you mean “gobble”? (smiles) : )
      I use spell check too…..
      apparently it does not like some of my words too : )

      I recently found out about a place locally where the woman hand dyes wools and I am
      looking forward to visiting her little shop, as soon as I can.
      uh oh….I think this (wool) could be another addiction lol.

  3. Gina says:

    Remember petticoats with crochet lace? I loved all of it – so feminine and pretty. I got rid of all of it because it was no longer practical for my life. Nowadays I wear Dansko’s and scrubs, but I do think back on all those beautiful prints….love the little pumpkin man (:

    • ancientcloth says:

      I do remember the petticoats and shhh…don’t tell my daughters but, I have
      tucked away a petticoat pattern I have had for years. : ) I hope to make something
      someday…I got rid of the clothes because my taste changed and I wore them so
      much that I was “burned out” with wearing them.
      Is’nt it so funny how we come “full circle” with it all?
      The fabrics were sooooo beautiful!
      The little pumpkin man was so easy and fun to make….thank you <3

  4. cicadiaxiii says:

    I made a linen skirt today. Catherine said it wouldn’t make it on Project Runway. So I took it up stairs to hem it and made one of those nice pleats in the bottom above the hem. I love skirts and I love them long…with lots of fabric.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I love long skirts with lots of fabric too! Very feminine.
      My daughters delight in rolling with laughter at some of the clothing I like.
      Someday they will understand lol! : )

  5. mendofleur says:

    So much to comment on here. I love the photo of you and your daughters here, so sweet. And the scenery with the wild turkeys is so beautiful, the fall colors are wonderful aren’t they?

    Your cat Luna is adorable and yes, please keep her safe indoors.

    What a perfect little pumpkin doll.

    I agree with you about the dresses with winter tights. It is my favorite thing to wear because I do get tired of wearing pants all the time. Nice post!

    • ancientcloth says:

      My daughters always make me laugh and smile.
      I was driving home yesterday from work and I could
      not believe how golden all the leaves made everything look with the sunlight shining
      down on them…so beautiful.
      Almost surreal.
      Those turkeys seemed so unafraid and just took their sweet time crossing the road : )
      Luna was left behind by neighbors who moved back to their home state. They were flying
      and did not want to take her so, they just left her! Some other neighbors brought her to
      us asking us if we would take her in. Well, of course my children and I are such softees, we could
      not turn her away.
      I am still looking for fabric to make that dress…I have found some fun tights though.

Leave a Reply

