skirt-ing

CC License View

This is what I have spent the last couple of days working on. I know it does not

look like much but, it is the  large skirt for the pumpkin doll. ( which is over a yard long .)

I had to baste all the pieces of fabric to the main piece then go back and

stitch down each one.

CC License View

Now I am in the process of hemming the whole thing.

: )

This entry was posted in doll, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to skirt-ing

  1. Mary says:

    What fun! Love how you mixed the fabrics and colors…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am having fun with this doll. I have wanted to make myself
      one for quite a while. As a matter of fact, I have a list of of ideas
      for dolls I would like to make. You always inspire me with all your
      fun cheerful creative ideas! <3

  2. deb g says:

    I like the combination of fabrics….

  3. Ger says:

    You must have a bottomless supply of small pattern fabrics… – they make a lovely oldfashioned kind of mix…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have a big box fabric scraps…not really many big pieces.
      I try to imagine all of the wonderful fabric scraps everyone has…think
      about Jude at Spiritcloth : )
      It would be Christmas for sure…. (smiles)! And your lovely hand dyed fabrics! <3
      I do like mixing all the fabrics.

  4. Hi Ancient Cloth! Just checking in. I love your pumpkin lady and can hardly wait to see her in her wonderful patchwork skirt. And just in time for Halloween? I managed to get in a couple of posts, but I’m still entrenched in matters of renovation, though I’ve gotten more worried about current events of late, and that makes me think I really must get back to an art project to take my mind off the world. I worry too much when people start getting angry with one another. I long for a peaceful world. I wish you much peace, and I love all the loving kindness you always send out into the world. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      Hi Kari, so happy you are back! <3
      My pumpkin lady is turning out very nicely….I will share some new pictures soon.
      Her skirt is my favorite :)
      I think peace is one of the greatest gifts for the world and ourselves. If only
      people would choose peace and love over other negative emotions…..
      Thank you for sending me "peace", It warmed my heart <3 and thank you for
      your kind words. I look forward to visiting your blog as soon as possible : )

  5. Julia Moore says:

    Did you use teh onion skin/turmeric dyed fabric in the skirt?I hope you will include it somewhere on this wonderful Pumpkin Lady doll. I love this! Keep saving onion skins!

    • ancientcloth says:

      I finished the skirt and shirt for the Pumpkin doll and I plan to either
      stitch or write some words on the onion skin/tumeric dyed fabric and
      I will stitch it to the lower right hand side of the skirt. I will keep saving
      those onion skins. I liked that it was so easy to do :)
      Thank you <3

Leave a Reply

