mercury in retrograde and spirit roots

CC License View

I finished Mercury in Retrograde.

Please disregard the little bit of thread scrap on the heart that appears white….

It was just a piece I missed picking off of the cloth.

CC License View

I am pleased with the way this piece turned out….

CC License View

the hand was stitched in the style of mehndi, the traditional art form of hand painting in India.

Traditional hand painting is  done using henna, which is a small shrub found in Iran, India, Pakistan, Egypt and North Africa.

CC License View

You may remember the tree with roots in the stars …called spiritroots.

CC License View

The piece was extra long and I had not worked on it in a while and sometimes

unless I write notes about a piece I simply forget my “train of thought”.

So, I sat for a while in quiet and resumed the path I had begun.

I decided to step outside the box and use my sewing machine on piecing the background fabrics.

The plaid was very subdued and I liked the subtle green in it, which gave an “earthy” quality to this piece.

I also added a bit of brown flannel and  used a variegated thread to stitch around the goddess.

CC License View

First I chose to add the symbols for the maiden, mother  and crone.

The maiden-crescent moon-can represent the young girl growing stronger with each passing day.

The Mother-the full moon-a woman

The crone-waning moon-a woman  who is beyond her womanly cycle.

I am in no way trying to impart the full body of information regarding these symbols. Only to mention what

they partially mean to me.

CC License View

the stars at the top represent the five senses also the elements earth, fire , water and air.

There is much more but, you get the idea.

The tree is like us; the roots reach into space beyond time which holds all

memories of everything we are and ever have been.

The goddess for me represents the feminine energy and the sticks represent the earth from which we are made.

CC License View

OK….that’s all for now….more later <3

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, fun!, heart, home, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit, symbols, words. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to mercury in retrograde and spirit roots

  1. Suzanna says:

    So thoughtful Marie…into another dimension…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am having fun with this one but, as I look at the pictures I can see it is definitely
      a “journey” and it will evolve over time…patience, right?
      Thank you <3

  2. Gina says:

    Beautiful! and the photos is very nice, too! (:

  3. mendofleur says:

    What powerful pieces these are. I loved reading the descriptions also. The hand and the embroidery is so beautiful and your work is amazing. Very impressive. Such a lovely photo of you, I am assuming. You amaze me at all you accomplish! Thank you for this positive energy.

    • ancientcloth says:

      This is one of those really personal pieces. Meaning I feel vulnerable when I share it because
      it is from the side of spirit. That is a picture of me. I just came home from work one evening and
      threw on my pjs and my daughter snapped a picture of me. My daughters then showed me how to
      frame it with a program. They teach me a lot lol!
      Thank you for all your kind words <3

  4. Touching pieces and thoughts. I so much like the way you can express your feelings and thoughts through your art. A beautiful journey indeed that is fascinating to see. I love the Indian hand !

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh Isa, thank you. <3
      My art is my way of expressing things…like therapy lol! : )
      It really is a pilgrimage and journey.
      I love the Indian hand painting…quite beautiful.

  5. I really like this art work. Such a nice meditative piece. It is nice that you incorporated different cultural to express symbol and give meaning..i.e. the henna stitched hand. Of course there is a lot there as you said, so I had to blow it up bigger. The subtle colors in the threads are rich.

    • ancientcloth says:

      This is one of those pieces I started a while back and it was just set aside because
      I felt “stuck” ….. I really wanted to paint the hand with henna and I did not have
      it on hand. When I did pick up the piece recently I thought I want to finish this and I looked
      around at my options at hand….It was either acrylic paint or embroidery. I chose embroidery.
      I use different colors of thread more often than not. I get bored using the same color over and over. : )

Leave a Reply

