Simplify

CC License View

Finally a day off and the children started school today.

I miss them when they are not near and I think about them

all day…that is just me. I know some days it can be a relief

to parents to have a bit of a break. But, it seems before  long

they will be grown and just maybe I am already feeling sentimental….

One thing I want to do is simplify and use what is at hand.

I decided the ball of thread scraps just sitting on the desk was not working

for me so I found  one of those crystal looking bowls to hold the thread

I went as far as the kitchen cabinet…I like it!

CC License View

These were a gift to me. I just had them stacked on my desk and thought I would share them

with you. I like the “mandala/ labyrinth ” aspect to them.

CC License View

The minute I get home my jewelry comes “flying off” and my desk seemed to be where it would land.

I decided a pretty tea cup and saucer would be a nice jewelry holder.

CC License View

I finally finished this tea cup cozy…long overdue. It will be on it’s merry way to a friend.

CC License View

and I finally finished this little gift too….

CC License View

it is a letter holder.

CC License View

This is something I started a while back and I have been wanting to finish it for quite some time.

I kept thinking about the phrase “mercury in retrograde” and how people would refer to

life being challenging  when mercury was in retrograde.

What is Mercury Retrograde?:

This happens three to four times per year, when the planet Mercury slows down, and appears to stop and move backward

retrograde. It’s an optical illusion, since there is forward movement, like speeding by a slow-moving train-as it recedes, it appears

to go backward.

The Mercury retrograde dates for 2010 are:

The dates are: December 26th, 2009 to January 15th, 2010 in the earth sign Capricorn. April 17th to May 11th in the earth sign Taurus. August 20th to September 12th in the earth sign Virgo. December 10th through 29th, in the earth sign Capricorn and fire sign Sagittarius.

I wanted to put the alchemical symbol for mercury on the

hand. One meaning for the symbol is:

Mercury symbolizes intellect, mental outlook, the way we think and communicate.

CC License View

When I was envisioning my design for this piece I kept seeing a hand with

mehndi which is :

mehndisite.blogspot.com/2009_11_…

quite a beautiful process. Since I did not have henna to paint with

I decided my embroidery thread would be my paint for the hand.

CC License View

(daughter#2 and friend from slumber  party)

I survived daughter #2’s birthday slumber party with 4 hours of sleep and off to work…

she and her friends had fun….

so it was worth it.

Happy 13 (going on 18) Birthday Sweet little one!

<3

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, family, friends, fun!, gift, heart, home, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit, symbols, thread. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Simplify

  1. Gina says:

    I’m with you! I miss my peeps when they are not here, and I actually look forward to days off from school – we can sleep in, have lunch together, see a movie, etc. Like a mini vacay! Your daughter looks so like you – must be the eyes (:

    • ancientcloth says:

      Yeah…like you, I enjoy them. They make me smile and sometimes they
      can be a “piece of work” but, I love’em!
      Little Sarah…she does look a bit like me but, she has a big personality.

  2. deb g says:

    Well that explains a lot! I was just joking that Mercury must be in retrograde since it wasn’t a full moon anymore…. Everything is looking good!

    • ancientcloth says:

      mhm…lol!
      I did not even know about Mercury in retrograde happening around now until I just looked it up.
      I started this project months ago….
      I spent my day cleaning, laundry and stitching in between.
      Thanks : )

  3. Mary says:

    Lovely post! Love seeing all your stitching projects and what beautiful girls you have!
    I also try and keep track of Mercury retrograde…odd things usually happen with my computer!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thanks Mary <3
      I am going to pay closer attention to Mercury retrograde
      and try to understand it a bit better…interesting about
      the computer! : )

  4. mendofleur says:

    So much beauty here, including your sweet daughter. You are a very special mom! It is so true, the time vanishes and then they are gone on their own paths to adulthood.

    The gifts you have made are so wonderful. All the fabrics you have chosen and the embellishments are perfect.

    You know, I have never heard the phrase, mercury in retrograde. Now I have learned something new on this first day of September.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you <3
      Sarah is such a sweetie with a beautiful spirit.
      My children are such a joy and yes, time does vanish.
      My oldest is 25 : 0
      The gifts are a lot of fun to make. I like to choose each piece of fabric
      or embellishment with the person in mind.
      I always learn something new from you too! : )

Leave a Reply

