about pseudo making

CC License View

pseudo [ˈsjuːdəʊ] adj

Informal not genuine; pretended
Pseudo making is about someone who appears on the outside to be OK , strong
and happy but on the inside they are otherwise…
I decided to stitch “words” into the cloth because you see a smile
to the left indicating that a person is smiling on the outside but, on
the inside they are sad, unhappy, etc. Words come from a mouth….
Some words hold great meaning and then other words are just “talk”
which have no action or substance behind them.
Talk can be “cheap”.

the steel beads stitched on the left of the heart represent “steel intent” or “strong
intention. The turquoise “x” represents the sadness, and  the “fires” of life, and
disappointments one has experienced along the way. The “x” also represents the “scares” scars
(sometimes I am still half asleep when I post these things)
or memories left behind….

So, that was my thinking behind this piece…
: )

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, fabric, heart, quilting, sewing, spirit, symbols, thread, words. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to about pseudo making

  1. Mary says:

    Love all your new stitching!
    And such pretty toes!
    Birds and hearts with wings….my favorites, too…
    and that is a David Marsh bookcase…you are the first person to notice!
    xxoo
    m.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh, thanks…I am enjoying the stitching when I can.
      That nail polish color is my favorite.
      I recognize the David Marsh bookcase because I have
      owned pieces in the past : )
      <3

  2. Wow. That is so good and so deep. I think your image is going to stay with me this week as I ponder this.
    What about the wings?

    • ancientcloth says:

      mmm…they are just wings lol! :)
      I just saw the vision of the picture that way in
      my mind before I created it.
      <3

  3. mendofleur says:

    I really love all the thoughts that went into this piece. There is so much to think about here and so much symbolism. If you don’t mind I want to post my heart of turquoise too!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh yes, please do post your heart of turquoise too! : )
      I would love to see it!
      Some of my older pieces have a lot of thought and symbolism
      in them. I have pieces waiting in the wings with more of the same.
      <3

  4. deb g says:

    A lot of story to consider…

  5. I love the way you express your thoughts as you sew and embroider your very personal art pieces. You are a great inspiration to me, Marie. I have started a quilt about someone´s life, little by little as memories come back. A life seen through my needles and fabrics, my way of inspiration.

    • ancientcloth says:

      : )
      I am very “touched” that some how I have inspired someone…thank you (I am blushing) lol!
      I really enjoy being creative. It is a journey or pilgrimage for me to knowing “me” better.
      What a beautiful way to remember someone by quilting a story with your hands <3
      I look forward to sharing that journey of remembering. : )

Leave a Reply

