Invictus

Invictus

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

by William Ernest Henely

CC License View


This entry was posted in heart, spirit, words. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Invictus

  1. mendofleur says:

    What powerful words and image. Wow. Is that you superimposed on the photo?

    • ancientcloth says:

      That is a powerful poem. It makes me think of strength and endurance.
      The man who wrote the poem suffered during his lifetime from physical illness.
      Yes, that is me superimposed in the picture :)

  2. I really like this post as well. Moving poetry and stirring photo.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Someone I know had to memorize this as a child and they never forgot it.
      I think schools would do well to teach memorization to our children, don’t you?
      Especially “moving” poetry.
      And thank you regarding the photo…it’s me.

  3. deb g says:

    I still remember poems I had to memorize. Great photo, I love how layering can make a photo “more.”

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think it is fabulous that you remember them…
      Teachers give a gift when they encourage
      children to remember poems/literature.
      All the photo layering is fun…I did not do the picture
      but it is me : )

  4. Debi Minter says:

    Absolutely lovely! The photo is amazing… love the ghostly look.
    HuGGs!
    Debi

    • ancientcloth says:

      I remember when the picture was taken…
      It was a beautiful place and the moon was
      just above me! Thank you.

  5. Julia Moore says:

    Dear Marie, thank you for printing this poem. I recently watched the movie “Invictus,” produced by Clint Eastwood and starring Matt Damon. In the movie I learned that this was Nelson Mandela’s sustaining poem through all the years he was imprisoned. He recites the poem in the movie and I wanted to write it down. Thanks to you I have it now. It is a poem that will sustain me too. P.S. Love all your new pieces. Everytime I check in with you, you amaze me with your growth and growing vision in your art work!

    • ancientcloth says:

      It is a very “powerful” poem.
      I am glad you found it here : )
      I do not believe in coincidences….some times the design
      of this place amazes me! lol!
      I have another poem I want to post at some point.
      Thank you….I am growing and changing in my journey <3

Leave a Reply

