a lazy day…

CC License View

I took daughter #2 to the little beach and finished reading this book of poetry by Jewel.

Very heart-felt and sometimes cryptic and probably the only person who really knows what

some of the poetry really means, is her.

I love that she was willing to be “vulnerable” and share.

CC License View

CC License View

when I came back home; I spread a sheet on the ground and look what

“little fellow” came for a visit….

CC License View

I pulled out some more books I picked up at my local library….

CC License View

I found this book about the Amish….I find their way of life intriguing.

I have spent time in Amish country and it is beautiful and the people are such

hard workers at everything they do. Their gardens and crops are fabulous….

CC License View

and speaking of gardens….look at my baby watermelon!

CC License View

closeup of the watermelon.

CC License View

a baby bell pepper (in the center/right  top of the picture).

CC License View

sage…which I hope to dry the leaves for tea this winter.

CC License View

the rosemary sprouted tiny blue flowers….

CC License View

lastly, a dish I made to go with dinner….I used some lemon basil, which I did not show from the garden and yes

it is very hearty and doing well. I just combined lemon basil, olive oil, vinegar, salt and fresh

ground pepper with tomatoes and mozzarella cheese.

This entry was posted in book, crochet, family, fun!, garden, heart, home. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to a lazy day…

  1. Gina says:

    Oh! Your dinner looks so delish!

  2. deb g says:

    Hooray! So exciting to see your garden growing.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am smiling…when I saw that tiny watermelon I thought,” my first little “baby” fruit”…
      It was pretty exciting…I know…it’s the little things : )
      <3

  3. Debi Minter says:

    Man, that dinner looks yummy! I’m so loving the picture of the beach. It looks like the picture was taken at dusk? And your “baby” melon is so precious. Sometimes you just wish they’d never grow up… but then think of the yummy, juices dripping goodness to be had.
    HuGGs!
    Debi

    • ancientcloth says:

      The salad was very fresh and delicious. The beach picture was taken late afternoon.
      Ha! I know…pretty “cute” baby melon. Thanks! : )

    • ancientcloth says:

      The salad was very fresh and delicious. The beach picture was taken late afternoon.
      Ha! I know…pretty “cute” baby melon. Thanks! : )

  4. Ger says:

    Nice, sometimes, to have a peep into someones´s day – especially when it´s a lazy one… – wish I´d had such a useful library at hand (one´d think there were, in a capital like Berlin, but most of them, being underfunded I guess, just have dusty old boring books…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am glad I shared my day : )
      Our library is so tiny and the craft section is only two shelves
      but, somehow they (the library) manage to keep my attention.
      I would think Berlin would have a fabulous library…so sad!
      <3

  5. Pom Pom says:

    That dinner looks delicious! This is my first visit to Ancient Cloth. I like it. Thank you!

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am so glad you stopped by : )
      The salad was delicious….very fresh.
      It has been hot so, it was nice to have something cool.
      Thanks again <3

  6. mendofleur says:

    My favorite was the baby watermelon. What great garden photos. I am very impressed by your green thumb.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Well, let me just say at first I was so “worried” about my little plants especially
      the tomatoes….they grew an inch and then literally “froze in time”. They disliked
      the buckets (red), I had put them in. So, I switched out all the buckets except , the rosemary plant and
      gently fertilized the plants also the plants were not happy with the deck. (too hot)
      So, I moved the plants to the ground and now they are happily growing : )

  7. You have such a green thumb. Love seeing all the food growing in your garden. We haven’t had much sun this summer so the garden was very stunted here. Also it has been really cool…in the 60’s. So that didn’t help either. Fennel loves it though.

    • ancientcloth says:

      The garden and I had a “rough” start lol!
      But, now I think we are on track.
      The weather is crazy…right now we have a bit of
      a cool spell.

  8. Not such a lazy day ;) I love all you shared with us. Your beach looks beautiful and this book about the Amish seems interesting too. I have not sewed yet an Amish quilt, their plain colours are very attractive. The garden grows well over here, we picked green beans and salads today. Delicious !

    • ancientcloth says:

      I love the simple and plain colors the Amish use especially
      the jewel tones. Having a little garden is so nice and the fresh
      food is wonderful.
      I love days where I can just “play” . : )

Leave a Reply

