diablo

CC License View

I named this piece “FACING FEARS”…..

CC License View

I am using it to represent all fears big or small.  I was inspired to create it after

reading a post by:

http://flyinghaystackshandembroidery.blogspot.com/2009/06/devil.html

He speaks of being afraid of the image and by stitching it he overcame

his fears….

It was so much  fun to stitch because I used so many different colors

of thread…

sometimes the best way to face fears is to walk straight into them.

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, sewing, spirit, symbols, thread, words. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to diablo

  1. deb g says:

    It’s funny…I like this one better from a distance.

  2. Chris Mundy says:

    Nice work on Lucifer! I’m enjoying that.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! All the different colors kept it interesting
      for me to stitch. Glad you visited…you have a lovely blog : )

  3. mendofleur says:

    Facing fears is always such a challenge and yet seems to be one we all face at differing times in our lives.

    I have been gone for so long, I find it fun to see what everyone is doing these days. Love your stitching and the way you are reaching through your fears in this way. Inspiring.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am so happy you are back! I have missed you<3
      Yes, fears big or small are something we must all deal with at different times.
      I thought the gentleman at flying haystacks expressed something I had felt
      in the past regarding that symbol or face and he speaks of how by stitching the image over a period of weeks
      he Slowly but surely stopped being scared.” Now, I ‘own’ that image. I made it. I’m in control. I have the power.”
      and he said he was no longer afraid.
      Thank you!

  4. Ger says:

    Might there be a resemblance to your own face…? – pardon me for asking, if it´s not ;) – but I thought so, seeing it next to your photo… – spotted the acorns, too – picked some up on a walk myself, cherished harbingers of autumn…

    • ancientcloth says:

      hmmmm….I hope I do not look that way!
      Love the acorns and sticks…ahhh nature : )

      • Ger says:

        No, you don´t look that way… it´s just a matter of face proportions I guess… ;)

      • ancientcloth says:

        A lot of times when I have painted a picture I can see a little of myself in the
        painting especially if it is a face. I do not mean to…it just happens so maybe
        that is what you are seeing? We put ourselves into what we create perhaps.
        : )

  5. I love the use of blue in the face. It is very powerful and yet I agree that the more we face our fears the more manageable they become.

Leave a Reply

