reborn

CC License View

I was not really completely happy with Lion spirit mask...

Lion spirit mask

It seemed cold to me.

So, I decided to rip it apart and start over.

First I needed to draw what I wanted.

CC License View

I embroidered the face on white cloth then cut it out and stitched it to the original piece,

after I removed the beaded mask.

I have a few other pieces I am going to re-do.

I think it is good to post them and go back and take a look frequently, as I do.

I see things I did not see before and view the pieces in a new light.

CC License View

CC License View

reborn!

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, fabric, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to reborn

  1. This is a nice improvement. The other was ok but this is more realistic. Good job and I like seeing the steps to your creativity.

    • Debi Minter says:

      I had to smile! As creators, are we ever completely happy with what we’ve made??? Sometimes I have to hear several people tell me they like something I’m not satisfied with. Otherwise I tear into it and change it up! While I loved the beading (I love to do bead embroidery) this is so wonderful too! I love the calm look to his face… not to say it might not change if he was challenged! Great job on embroidering the features. I love him.

      • ancientcloth says:

        Yes, I agree as creators we are definitely highly critical of ourselves.
        I like the calmer look too! The other one was “cold” and as my daughter
        put it…”creepy”. I had this idea…but, it did not translate as well as I hoped.
        I like the new version better….
        Thank you <3

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you for your kind words but, the first one was… well, as one
      of my daughters said, “creepy, weird, ugly and has big lips!” So,
      i knew even before she said that
      that I was going to change it. <3

  2. Gina says:

    Beautiful! Both are nice, but it’s your vision of what you want that makes it a worthwhile endeavor (:

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you <3
      I love what you said about it being my vision of what
      I want that makes it a worthwhile endeavor….so true!

  3. deb g says:

    Oh I like this! The softer face works better for me too. :)

  4. Hi Ancient Cloth! Just checking in with you. I’ve been out of pocket all summer and I’ll be gone a little longer. You’ve been doing so much beautiful art! I love your “Winter of the Heart” and the lion on this post is so appealing. “Reborn!” We are getting ready to repaint our old house, and I hope to feel “reborn,” too, whenever we finally get through. I may be hiding out in a castle near my home during the renovations, or just hiding out. Be back in September sometime. Please take care! Looks as if you have a very fine lion to keep guard over you! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh, I am so glad you wrote! I have missed you <3
      I am sure your little house will be "reborn" : )
      and a castle to hide away in??? lovely!
      I look forward to your return.

  5. Rebirth of blue-eyed lion ! how very beautiful and real ! Love the beading.

Leave a Reply

