Lion spirit mask

CC License View

I decided I wanted to work on some small pieces just to give myself

a sense of creative accomplishment.

I knew I would do some beading which is too time consuming for

larger pieces.

This piece I am calling Lion spirit mask.

It was inspired by an African bag I had seen in a beading book

and although my picture looks nothing like or remotely resembles

the bag I saw; the African bag made me think of the colors I would

use and I ask myself,  what spirit mask would I make for myself?

I came up with a lion mask.

I created the face with white beads  to make the lion seem “ethereal” or “ghostly”,

like a spirit. I know the face is more human in appearance but,

it is what I felt I wanted  to create.

CC License View

Interestingly, as I was beginning this little project I decided to pick up a stack

of Tarot cards given to me as a gift. Look what showed up….

I felt it was appropriate and explained where I wanted to go with this piece.

CC License View

a little close up detail of the card…

CC License View

This piece is 5″ x 5″ total. I plan on doing more of these little cloths.

CC License View

A little beading close up….

Have a great day!

<3

This entry was posted in art, beading, book, embroidery, fabric, fun!, quilting, spirit, symbols. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lion spirit mask

  1. Debi Minter says:

    I really like this and I’m not put off by the human features on the face at all! This is a cool idea. Are you going to try some more beaded animal spirits? The beading combined with the stitching adds an especially nice touch! You called this a “card”. IS it for a card or are you maybe going to add some more fabric around it and use it as one component to a larger piece?
    HuGGs!
    Debi

    • ancientcloth says:

      At this point I do not have plans to do anymore animal spirits.
      The beading with the embroidery stitches are fun for me. It keeps
      my interest. I like textures. The card is just something I was showing.
      I will not be using it. Thank you! : )

  2. Gina says:

    I would be afraid to know what my spirit animal was….probably a cow cause I’m so bossy! Love the beading (:

  3. African is the thought that came to mind as I saw your lion spirit mask ! Beautiful ! I still have plenty of African materials from my stay there… just in case you would love some special patterns for your collection ;)

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have been contemplating taking the beaded mask apart and making it more lion-ish
      but, I have not quite decided yet….Oh, yes I would love any ideas/patterns you could share.
      How fascinating that you stayed in Africa. I am sure it must have been an adventure
      especially with that camera of yours. You are fabulous at taking pictures.
      Thanks again <3

  4. You always surprise me. I think this is a great start…doing small cloths of faces…or themes. Will these be incorporated into your heart quilt…or is this a separate project?

    Just love the lion’s mane.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I was thinking of incorporating them into the “dark hearts”
      quilt. I am glad I keep you surprised lol! I like the lions mane
      too but, I am still undecided about the mask part???
      <3

  5. deb g says:

    I really need to play with my bead collection one day soon…

Leave a Reply

