“Pseudo making”

CC License View

this is called, “Pseudo making”

I used a sharpie pen to draw the face and cut out the different colors

of fabric for the body, then added embroidery stitches.

I decided to make this after seeing:

CC License View

You can find a complete article in Somerset Studio May/June 2010.

I was inspired by this artist:

kellymoore.net

I love his art!

I love his honest, fresh approach and ethereal images.

He is self-taught, as I am….

He shows up everyday at the flea market in Santa Fe and paints his

beautiful paintings!

CC License View

I stamped a crow on the cheesecloth….

CC License View

I still have more stitching to do.

I have decided after looking at my stash of quilt pieces that this needed to be

made to go in my “dark”,  (as in color) hearts quilt.

more to come….

<3

This entry was posted in art, book, embroidery, heart, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to “Pseudo making”

  1. Suzanna says:

    Really nice! I like the contrast between the starkness of the black and the gauzy crows…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I really like crows. I am always amazed when I hear them “talking”.
      I feel like they are “messengers”.
      : )

      • Suzanna says:

        Me too…each one seems to have many different voices.

      • ancientcloth says:

        I notice that most creative folks are collectors of things…
        be it magazines, objects, etc. for inspiration. Of course
        then we must collect items for our creations themselves
        which can add up to a lot of “stuff”. I like that~”many different voices.”
        : )

  2. deb g says:

    I really like the texture the cheesecloth adds.

  3. Ger says:

    Lovely… – I often feel inspired by pictures in papers/ magazines + such – sometimes that´s the main reason I by them at all… – what´s that around the head – a hat – or a cloud…?

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you. I am the same when it comes to magazines, etc. I buy them (in this case
      checked it out from the library), because they inspire me. : )
      It is a cloud behind her head. I loved the ethereal aspect of the original painting
      and I found that unless I was painting I could not duplicate the “ethereal” quality
      very easy, so I settled for putting a cloud behind her.

  4. Really moody piece. I also like the texture that the cheese cloth added to the crow. Very cool and creative imagery.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Moody is a good word…I wanted it a little more ethereal
      but, hard to achieve without painting it…Thank you!
      I like the cheesecloth too…I coffee dyed it.

  5. This is very special and moody, as Quilt Architect says.There is softness in the shades and form. Yet the different stitches suggest more. A really beautiful piece.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you so much…I have never really been one for “dark” colors
      but, I really like the way this one is going…
      A lot of “heart” put into this one <3

Leave a Reply

