What?

CC License View

I am up early this morning…

After a perfectly miserable hot day and night.

I do not like extreme heat and I never have.

Even as a small child I did not like it…

I decided to go outside before the sun completely rose up. I felt in need of quiet and coolness. I love the gentle and sometimes not so gentle chatter of the birds waking up the plants and the world around them…singing in a new day.

But, that is really not what is on my mind today

for it is my actual birthday today and although I celebrated a few nights ago

now I am thinking about a lot of things…

I began stitching on a piece and the part that needed to be stitched was the word I had written on the quilt piece:

WHAT?

That is how I feel today…I have lots of questions to myself…

Like, “What am I doing at 50?”

“Where am I going at 50?”

“What have I done at 50?”

You see I was born a twin…at the time they said not much chance of me making it through but, I have

been blessed and I am thankful. I have a twin brother. He is a real “sweetie”.

Anyway…I just have a lot of questions for myself and I thought the synchronicity of the word

I needed to stitch and what I am thinking was interesting…..

I have a busy day ahead of me and I have lots of questions of myself.

CC License View

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, heart, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What?

  1. deb g says:

    The sun is just rising here at this moment…I love this time of day too. One of my favorite quotes: “Every day that is born into the world comes like a burst of music and rings the whole day through , and you make of it a dance, a dirge, or a life march, as you will.” Thomas Carlyle. Wishing you many dances.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh, I love that quote~so beautiful!
      Thank you <3
      many dances…
      I like that!

      p.s. early morning is my favorite time of day too! : )

  2. Deb that was such a good quote that I had to write that down in my journal. Double thank you!!!

    Marie, I wonder what it would be like to not know when you were born or just how old you were? How we live our life differently or how would we not get stressed over age or other things associated with birthdays?

    • ancientcloth says:

      mhm. Yes, normally I do not even give it much thought at all
      …the age thing.
      I guess since It seems that the number “50” sounds like
      a crossroads, it has given me a reason to “ponder” things.
      More than age I am just looking at all I have been through….
      I think if we were never told of age we would not “age” so rapidly!
      : )
      I agree about Deb’s quote…just beautiful! <3

  3. Wishing you many dances too, dear Marie. In fact, I just read an article about these dance sessions where people express their feelings with their own movements. Freely. Liberating. Some numbers look more important than others but only on paper. The next day is just another one, a beautiful one like this morning. “What ?” I am sure you will find a lot to stitch about. What is being alive.

    • ancientcloth says:

      My #1 son is a professional ballroom dancer and got through college by teaching
      dance. I think dancing is a lovely way to express ones self. You are right numbers
      look bigger on paper. I do not feel any older and truly every day is like the day before.
      Time is an illusion. I think just the idea of turning 50 makes me feel as though it is
      a crossroads of sorts…
      <3

  4. Julia Moore says:

    Please accept my belated Happy 5oth Birthday wish for you, Marie. I think one of the significant things about turning 50 is that you will most likely enter and maybe even exit menopause during this decade, which is a major transition and climactic accomplishment in women’s journeys. You are entering the time of great wisdom coming to fruition, instead of the fruition of the birth giving and mothering years, when the appropriate question may have been: “how?” You have asked a good question for your 50’s: “what?” Now enjoy the amazing answers readying themselves to appear.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! <3
      I appreciate your wisdom…that is something that I am
      grateful for at this point in my life. I appreciate you being
      part of the circle of women in my blogging world : )

Leave a Reply

