I think painting is involved…

CC License View

a quick sketch I did this past week of something I saw in a store.

It was a beautiful angel that  was at least  3 feet tall and was part wood

and metal. Her head and arms were made of wood with the skirt being made

of metal. The face was painted.  She stood on a wooden base.

I decided I would try my hand at re- creating this piece of art

but using mediums that I have.

CC License View

I am still “turning’ and stuffing the pieces. I think painting is involved in this piece

because I want  more of a folk art look, just like the original piece I saw.

CC License View

Lastly, I just finished reading this book. Michael was a brilliant author with a gift

for keeping you “spellbound”.  All of his books are novels with loads of research

involved so that the details of the story are brought to life.

Definitely worth a read…

Have a great week!

: )

This entry was posted in art, book, doll, fabric, painting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to I think painting is involved…

  1. Look forward to seeing the doll emerge…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think it will be a slow process…I am not going to rush.
      I am curious what she will look like. I am always surprised
      when I paint because the face that emerges is it’s “own”.
      Thank you : )

  2. Deb G says:

    Sounds like a santo ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santos_%28art%29 )?

    I’ve always been fascinated by them. Doing something similar has always been on my “to-do” list.

  3. Thank you Deb for the link. I had to read more. I can’t wait to see what you do with your doll. This is very exciting!!!

    You are always doing such different things, I like that!!

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am glad sent the link too : )
      I have to do different things or I lose interest….
      I like things that make me think lol
      thank you!
      <3

  4. mendofleur says:

    I am always amazed, Maria, with the wealth of your talent and process. You so greatly inspire me. You are never intimidated to try anything. I know this angel will be simply amazing and very much have all of your heart in it. How you manage to do everything is quite a feat! I guess Michael Crichton passed away? I just started reading a book last night that I will post on my blog today. Happy summer solstice!

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am blushing….Thank you. <3
      I have high hopes that the angel will turn out : )
      Well, I am not sure I manage it all very well, I think
      I "muddle" through it all lol!
      Sadly, Michael Crichton did pass away. He was much too young. My youngest daughter was reading Jurassic Park
      at age 9. He is her favorite author. I look forward to seeing what you post.
      Happy Summer Solstice to you too <3

  5. Ger says:

    Huuh, a glimpse into Mrs. Frankenstein`s sewing chamber…

Leave a Reply

