Where is home?

CC License View

A dear friend and I have talked many times about the word ” home”…What is a home?

and where is home? I myself , have moved so many times and had to start

over more times than I can count. I have lived in many places and types of places.

What I have discovered for me  is this:

Things come and go in our lives…

But home is really where we  live, love and grow.

Maybe it is for a season or for a lifetime.

My friend often talks about wanting to live a simpler life and living in an

RV just might suit her lifestyle. She never had children and is not married.

I will be traveling soon to see my friend and I wanted to make her a gift.

So, I started with this:

CC License View

a heart, because home is where the heart is!

CC License View

some stars…

CC License View

the word ” home” with some sunshine…

CC License View

a little cheerful bird to sing songs….

CC License View

to help the flowers grow.

CC License View

I think I will call this a “visiting cloth“…that sound’s right to me.

<3

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, fabric, family, friends, friendship, gift, heart, home, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Where is home?

  1. Gina says:

    I love the birdies and the flower buttons – home is where we all want to end up at the close of a day. Lots of places are nice to visit, but you might not want to live there – depends on who is with you, I guess!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Many times when a snow storm would hit,
      all I could think of was getting home safely…
      definitely a place I wanted to be at the end of the day.
      I think the little bird turned out pretty cute too. Thank you : )

  2. Suzanna says:

    What a lovely thoughtful gift…your friend will be so happy.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! She is so appreciative of what ever I make her.
      She has quite the collection of my work…actually more than
      I have lol! : )

  3. kaye says:

    Yes, a thoughtful and pretty gift.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh thank you Kaye. I have other little gifts to stitch up that
      I will be sharing soon. Love your new sketches/paintings and
      notes. : )

  4. Deb G says:

    What a happy piece this is!

  5. mendofleur says:

    Oh this is so cheerful and full of joy and love. What a beautiful piece and special gift for your friend.

    I also loved what you said about defining what “home” is. I, too, have had disruptive homes, meaning many and some short-lived at times. So I do think your idea of what home is perhaps is not really an actual physical location, but more a place of spirit in so many ways. Having a house and a garden is filled with lots of joy, but also lots of work. I like the image of your home on wheels. I think this could be my dream as I age, a traveling home, not knowing where I will land but knowing it will be filled with surprises and adventure.

    • ancientcloth says:

      You have said this so beautifully and just the way I was trying to communicate
      what was in my heart. Thank you! Home to me really is a place of spirit…my life has definitely
      been a pilgrimage, a journey. <3

  6. That is such a happy cloth. I love it!
    Home is an active word not a stationary word. If we stop acting on it it becomes a statue or a thing. It loses it’s meaning and feels empty. IMHO

  7. I mean that the home is your soul and the souls of others in your life.

  8. Sharon says:

    What a marvelously lucky friend you have! I love everything about this piece. Is the “airstream” trailer an image transfer?

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! The “airstream” is actually on a piece of fabric
      that has all kinds of “RV’s” printed on it…I just cut out
      one I thought was appropriate for the cloth I made.

  9. Oh, I love this beautiful “visiting cloth” you have made for your friend! You picked all the perfect signs and symbols to surround the little home on wheels like guardian angels. How happy it will make your friend! I, too, have moved so much in my life. My writing has always been my home, I guess. I don’t know what I would have done without it. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      It is funny because I feel my stitching has been my home,
      my sanctuary and comfort just as your writing and words
      has always been your home. (You said that so beautifully!)
      I like that you said the symbols are like guardian angels
      : )
      Thank you!
      <3

  10. pamela says:

    The perfect gift. It’s lovely.
    And, it’s true as well.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh Pamela, thank you for visiting!
      If I wanted to view all the art I have
      made from over the years; all I have to do is visit my
      friend. lol! She is my biggest collector because
      I am always giving her something handmade.
      Paintings, dolls, stitching etc. <3

  11. Ger says:

    A “visiting cloth” – I like that…

Leave a Reply

