all because of lunch…

CC License View

Well it all started on the  day when I went to the library to pick up a book

for myself and daughter #2. The library did not have the book daughter

#2 requested so I asked the librarian  to select something that she thought my daughter

might enjoy. When I returned home with my lovely little pile my daughter told

me to return the Uglies book because all her friends had read it and told her

all about  it and since she already knew the ending to the series a polite, “No thanks”

was given. So, I being the easy going mom said, “No problem, I will take the book back

to the library on my way to work tomorrow.”

Next day, I decided I would  return the book after work. So,

Lunch rolls around at work  and I have discovered in my mad dash to get out the door

I did not bring my book or any stitching…”What to do?”

I ran to the car and grabbed daughter #2’s book to be returned to the library  and started reading.

I am hooked! Hook, line and sinker!

Never underestimate  the power of a teen series of books.

It is a sci-fi series with hoverboards and more.

I must confess (sheepishly) I am on the second book.

CC License View

I did manage to finish my little postcard gift….

This entry was posted in art, beading, book, embroidery, fabric, family, friends, gift, heart, home, postcard, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to all because of lunch…

  1. Deb G says:

    There is some very excellent children and young adult literature out there…and some that is just plain fun.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am discovering that world : )
      I remember the little books I would buy when
      my children were really small….they were so
      sweet and I think I enjoyed them even more
      than my children. lol!

  2. karen says:

    teen reads eh! As I no longer have any teenagers, (oh my goodness when did they grow up??) i am not likely to see any teen reads anymore although my daughter (26) is currently reading Alice in Wonderland for the zillionth time!

    • ancientcloth says:

      They grow up so fast…don’t they? I love the library.
      Sometimes I go to the children’s section just so I
      can look at the books for inspiration (artistically speaking)
      : )

  3. Suzanna says:

    Thanks for this recommendation…I’ll add it to my list. I enjoy the teen books along with almost everything else.

    • ancientcloth says:

      The author makes it so easy to read and
      describes things in such a way that makes you feel
      you are right there. I am so enjoying the books.
      Your welcome : )

  4. Gina says:

    I have to confess that I read the Twilight series – YUCK. But Spencer was reading it because his girlfriend was reading it…I had to see what all the buzz was about. I do not recommend them – it was torture getting thru the last one! But that satisfied my curiosity…

    • ancientcloth says:

      My daughter, Sarah, read them. She actually “devoured”
      them. I would buy her one book at a time and she would
      sit down and read the book until she finished it. lol!
      I did not read them.

  5. You are such a book worm. How fun. I have a hard time to sit and stich much less to read a book. So I listen to most of mine. I am reading The Portrait of a Lady.
    I love the post card!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Ha! I really am not a book worm. Just a “late bloomer.”
      When I was young you could not pay me to read a book…
      (a sad little confession.) I have not heard of the book
      you are reading. Thank you in regards to the postcard.
      : )

  6. Your post reminds me of how I was captured by the Harry Potter books when they first came out. I did lose interest after the fourth book, but my husband and I have been to almost all of the movies. As a teacher, I was so excited that children were excited about reading again. And I love your sweet postcard! I love that old-fashioned flower fabric. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      uh-um (clearing throat)…I am on the third and final book of my little series!
      lol : )….I am a “late bloomer”. You could not pay me to read when I was young.
      Pretty sad…
      I knew people who literally waited overnight outside
      a bookstore for the new Harry Potter books. Sleeping bags and all!
      Not just once but each
      time the new book came out! I am still trying to get my #2 son
      interested in reading…sigh! I will keep encouraging him :)
      The postcard is for someone who is so elegant and a women of grace and beauty.
      Thank you : )
      <3

  7. Erica says:

    I think I must be in my second childhood because I’m enjoying young adult books these days much more than the “grown ups” books. Has your daughter (or you!) read anything by Scott’s wife Justine Larbalestier http://justinelarbalestier.com/bio/
    BTW found my way here from a link on Arlee’s blog,
    enjoying your work

    • ancientcloth says:

      As far as I know we have not read anything by Scott’s wife.
      When I have more time I will look into that, thank you!
      Scott’s books are fabulous! Thank you so much for visiting
      my “little corner”. I just took a quick visit to your blog
      and I can not wait to have time to spend looking through
      all the fabulous art : ) Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

