Oonagh

CC License View

I love that name!

Oonagh Shanley-Toffolo was raised in Ireland and trained as a nurse in Dublin.

Oonagh is a Gaelic name.  A variant of Agnes, meaning pure and holy.

For two decades as a nun she served the poor in bothFrance and India. After leaving her order

she continued her nursing career in London  and Paris.

In 1981, she became one of the first Western woman to learn acupuncture in China.

“My dream was to start a healing center~to change the world. I was to learn there is

only one person I was given change~and that is myself…… Health is having hope.”

In February 1972 Oonagh received a phone call from the American Hospital in

France and was asked to come and care for the Duke  of  Windsor.

She did so until his passing. She shares a beautiful and touching love story between the

Duke and the Duchess and what a true “King” he was.

Oonagh had become a spiritual healer to Princess Diana for 6 1/2 years before

her death. She had given Diana a set of rosary beads during  their first months of meeting.

Diana was overjoyed and put her hand on her heart and promised she would keep them with her for the rest of her life.

Oonagh was told that on Diana’s death bed the rosary was intertwined in her hands…..

I thought the photo on the front of the book was so striking and while reading in the book I learned

that a woman by the name of Maureen had come to Oongagh for an  acupuncture treatment.

Maureen did the PR for Issey Miyake, a famous designer. It was Maureen who asked Oonagh if she would

consider being photographed by Lord Snowden wearing Issey Miyake because the designer used real people, not models.

I really enjoyed reading the book and it was a quick read.

CC License View

I love synchronicity! I thought it quite interesting that since I had just finished reading this wonderfully, spiritually rich book by Oonagh.I received this beautiful postcard from

Mary Stanley, ART SPIRIT

marystanley.blogspot.com

check out this post at Mary’s blog:

http://marystanley.blogspot.com/2010/05/buddha-abides.html

Mary has some fun and fabulous entries in this exhibit.

Thank you Mary! <3

CC License View

I added four more stars to my spirit roots cloth…..

CC License View

a piece of a little “surprise gift” I am working on….

Today if the weather cooperates I hope to replant my new little herbs

and spend a quiet day with my children and stitching.

Happy Mothers Day!

note: I think all women are mothers whether they have children or not…

We are the creative force. I have a neighbor who never had children but, she is a mother

to so many…I celebrate her and you today!

<3

This entry was posted in art, book, ceremony, embroidery, fabric, family, friends, friendship, garden, gift, heart, home, postcard, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit, symbols. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Oonagh

  1. Deb G says:

    So much to read… so much to explore. :) Happy Mother’s day!

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am on to another great book…going to finish it today!
      Happy Mother’s Day to you too! : )
      <3

  2. I have finally made my way back to the blogging world after a very hectic week, and how lovely to find your review of this book about such a very inspiring woman. I love her name and her face and the way she has posed herself for this photo. I especially love her hands! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      Glad you are back! : )
      I found the cover picture quite striking too.
      She is a beautiful woman of character.

  3. Mary says:

    love all your stitching…
    love the photograph of Oonagh…and glad the post card made it to you!
    xxoo
    m

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you Mary <3
      I have the postcard right at the front of my desk!
      Oonagh is such an interesting person. What a unique
      name. : )

  4. julia Moore says:

    Your article about Oonagh…wow! Thanks. J.M.

    • ancientcloth says:

      The minute I saw that book and her name…I wanted to
      change my name to Oonagh! It is such a unique name and I like the
      meaning of it: (Scottish, Irish, and Gaelic) means pure or holy.
      What a great affirmation!

Leave a Reply

