stars

CC License View

There are 7 stars stitched for the 7 sisters or Pleiades.

Ancient civilizations looked to the heavens as their guides for their daily lives.

The heavens were also the way the people knew when to plant and when to harvest, when the waters would flow

and when the land would be dry.

CC License View

stitching stars for “spirit roots”…

CC License View

Another cloth I stitched stars on…called “7 sisters”.

I have added a new post here:

circleoffeathers.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to stars

  1. Chris Gray says:

    ..and again…the pentangle….pops up everywhere..from prehistoric times..

  2. Deb G says:

    The stars were out last night…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I was looking for them here but, it got cloudy…
      I always called where you live “big sky” because
      it seemed you could see so much more of it : )

  3. kaye says:

    Thanks for tweeting my blog tutorial :-)
    Loving those stars!

  4. I have a book that I have managed to keep possession of, in spite of all the moves I have made since the 1960s, called Symbols, Signs & Signets, by Ernst Lehner. I still love to leaf through it and look at all the drawings of things alchemical, astrological, astronomical, religious, heraldic. It even has hobo signs and cattle brands. I find these simple graphic designs, like the star, very powerful indeed! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have a few books, which I can not find because I have moved so many
      times…but, one in particular sounds very much like what you are describing.
      I love ancient symbols…they have so many meanings depending upon the
      culture that is using them. I agree that the simplicity makes it very powerful.
      <3

Leave a Reply

