Committed

CC License View

The matters of the heart are such a complex and complicated

issue….

CC License View

I just finished reading this book by Elizabeth Gilbert.

I was given her first book EAT, PRAY , LOVE when it first came

out and I loved it!

You could say this book picks up where the first book left off.

She meets her Brazilian-born love, Felipe, in the first book

and now she is faced with marriage due to

Felipe not being allowed to come into the U.S. on

return from one of their many travels.

They are effectively, “sentenced to wed” or

leave this country forever. In this book she

shares how she and Felipe wandered across Southeast Asia

while they waited for all the paperwork to be handled.

While waiting and traveling Elizabeth talks with many women

along the way and does a lot of research on the topic of marriage.

One of the most touching stories is the story of her own

grandmother and the wine colored coat with the fur collar…

I would relate the story but, if you wish to read this book I think it

best to let you come across the story in the book.

Whether you are married or not I highly recommend this book.

It was interesting being a voyeur in her life and her historical research

is fascinating.

This entry was posted in book, home, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Committed

  1. Deb G says:

    Something more to add to the reading list! I enjoyed her first book too.

    • ancientcloth says:

      This was a book that made me sit back and reflect, which
      I always consider a good thing. I think you will enjoy it.
      I like her style of writing. It makes one feel as though you
      are sitting there talking/listening to her.

  2. Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about E. Gilbert’s second book. I loved the first one and will surely read this one too. Sitting back and reflect after reading is good for me too.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am sure you will enjoy it. I really like the way she writes.
      She makes you feel that you are right there having a conversation.
      It definitely made me think about a lot of things.

  3. I saw Committed in Books a Million and got really excited. I’m going to see if our library has it. I read Eat, Pray, Love and liked it a lot. I look forward to reading their love story.

    • ancientcloth says:

      She wrote in a very “real” and honest way.
      You have a lovely blog, thank you for stopping by.
      I really enjoyed your post about appreciating just
      where we are…right now. : )
      I really needed that right now…thank you <3

Leave a Reply

