“caramel apple”

CC License View

Yep…that’s the color name of this new thread…

I would have called it something like “cinnamon” …

Anyway, I was on the search for the perfect color of thread

for my “the elements” cloth and this is what I found.

It is a variegated or blended thread by Sulky.

CC License View

I think it goes pretty well…..

I like it!

“Yummy!”

: )

This entry was posted in art, fabric, quilting, sewing, spirit, thread. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “caramel apple”

  1. Deb G says:

    Makes me think of fall leaves…it does look good.

  2. Gina says:

    Why is thread so expensive nowadays? I love these varigated spools – they are so interesting!

    • ancientcloth says:

      You know I keep asking myself the same question…this one was almost $6.00
      :0
      It seems everything is out of control. Most decent fabrics are $10 and up per yard.
      Yikes!

  3. kaye says:

    I’ve heard great things about Sulky thread but have never tried it. I don’t know how easy it is to get in the UK. That one is certainly a fabulous colour! I usually use YLI or Valdani variegated, and sometimes Oliver Twists.

    • ancientcloth says:

      It is a lovely thread and I only recently found it at my sort of local
      quilting store. I believe it can be found where you are. I have never heard of
      those brands you mentioned…although, I am intrigued :)
      The only other brand of thread I use is DMC embroidery thread.
      I usually use 3 of the 6 strands when stitching with the DMC.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Well…I went and took a look and I am just thinking
      you are sooo lucky to have those threads…How beautiful
      and they are hand dyed! Fabulous! I looked at the Valdani
      site and Oliver Twists. Fun! Fun! Fun!
      : )

  4. Yes, that color is “yummy!” As Deb said, it is the color of fall leaves. I was trying to see all the colors in that thread, and it is incredible how many different colors are in it: dark brown, rusted red, antique gold. Those are the autumn colors that I love so much, and yet (I just realized) I hardly ever wear them. I wear winter, I guess (black, gray, blue), but love to feast my eyes upon ALL the colors!! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      There is also a bit of faint green in there too. I love fall colors
      and especially that pumpkin orange. I tend to wear brighter colors
      but love the warmth of the fall colors. : )

Leave a Reply

