elements

CC License View

The foundation of this piece was a gift from, Quilt Architect  and I just took the

cloth a step further and added additional stitching and cloth.

CC License View

CC License View

CC License View

this part represents the earth…I stitched a Hopi cross in the center.

It represents the four directions: north, south, east and west.

CC License View

I added a little star…

CC License View

I added the “black hole” universe star fabric….

and the spiral around the earth.

CC License View

For me this cloth represents the four elements:

Earth, Wind, Water and Fire.

The center is the earth with a star orbiting around it.

CC License View

Lastly, my son called to me to come quickly….

and look what was outside our door….

a double rainbow.

CC License View

How fitting that this was my little surprise…Since my piece is about the elements and

I am calling it, “The Elements”!

This entry was posted in art, ceremony, embroidery, fabric, family, friends, gift, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to elements

  1. Deb G says:

    And it is beautiful! I especially like the denim (?) dots with the stitching around the edges.

  2. Gina says:

    I love those little moments when it seems like something in the world is validating whats in your mind – and the quilt piece is very nice.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Synchronicity! I love it….when my son called
      me I jumped up because I thought something
      was wrong…instead it was the “gift” of a beautiful
      rainbow…I needed that….a miracle of sorts : )
      Thank you <3

  3. Fantastic rainbow! And I especially love that spiral on your piece. A while back I was trying to make a tornado out of paper by cutting out a spiral. I might revisit that idea again. I love thinking about the four elements, too, and trying to incorporate them into art. Love that little star! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have not really seen many rainbows here…in fact
      maybe this is a first. What makes it so special was
      it was right outside the door….I am hoping that
      means something really good lol. Spirals are a
      favorite of mine….they seem to represent a lot.
      Had to add a little star : )
      Thank you . <3

  4. julia Moore says:

    I think you are definitely “in the groove” when your art work depicting the universe occurs simultaneously with a double rainbow in the sky. It gives me delicious shivers of synchronicity!
    I just love your little stories about your pieces. Each one is like a little Haiku. Not too many words but big impact.
    What are the fabrics you used in this last piece? You made me curious.
    xxooJulia

    • ancientcloth says:

      Yes, I love synchronicity! I have been
      seeing more and more examples of it in my life.
      I would like to write more at times but, it seems my time
      on the computer is limited and so usually I am in a hurry to
      quickly throw what I have done up on a post but, I like your
      analogy of Haiku :)
      Cotton and denim are the fabrics used.
      Thank you <3

  5. Oh Marie, I love what you did with this piece. A true piece of collaborative art.
    This was totally a surprise to see today. And brought a smile to my face.

    Elements On Wild Magnolia’s blog today she had a great quote from Mother Teresa that is fitting for this piece as well. “See how nature – trees, grass, – grows in silence, see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence …we need silence to be able to touch souls.”

    http://thewildmagnolia-southmoonunder.blogspot.com/2010/04/move-in-silence.html

    The fabrics are some denim from a pair of jeans on the bottom and solid cotton fabrics on the top…Marie can tell you about her fabric.

    • ancientcloth says:

      <3 Glad it made you smile.
      I like that…"Collaborative art"!
      Beautiful words from Wild Magnolia and Mother Teresa.
      Thank you again <3

  6. kaye says:

    Just been catching up with your work and your blog – really like this piece, and the explanation of the symbols that accompanies it. A double rainbow is a rare treat indeed.

Leave a Reply

