heart ceremony

CC License View

I have decided with all the stitching and beading it made this cloth

feel special as I was holding it. Just the weight of it seemed to say

“ceremony cloth…a cloth of the heart.”

So, I have decided to name this cloth:

heart ceremony.

CC License View

lots of little stitches…

celebrating the heart

and stamped turquoise feathers dancing

around the heart…

I think the feathers are the thoughts, like angels

whispering…

CC License View

And some new soft multi- coloredĀ  thread by Sulky.

It is called Heather.

Nice!

CC License View

more stitching and beading to do…

Regarding my blog header, I have just been playing around with old cloths I made

a while back. I am not feeling rushed to make any decisions.

Maybe I will just rotate photos?

I have been reading and my book collection is growing.

I just acquired a new/used book today of poetry and I am

looking forward to skimming through it.

This entry was posted in art, beading, ceremony, embroidery, fabric, heart, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to heart ceremony

  1. Deb G says:

    Like the new header! Hearts deserve ceremonies…

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! I have always liked those two pieces, the Blue star Kachina
      and Dreamtime. Dreamtime was inspired by a book I read, called Crystal
      Woman. The Blue Star Kachina piece was inspired by the Hopi Indians.
      “Hearts deserve ceremonies”….I like that!
      : )

  2. kseverny says:

    these are some cool images your doing with these

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you…I like your poem “Time”, very nice!
      I am having fun with the beading. I started
      my creative endeavors with beading so, it goes
      way back. lol.

  3. I love the new header welcome. It is so bold.
    I like your heart celebration. It is important to guard our hearts and to fill them.
    I love how you have celebrated this theme with the seed stitch.

    • ancientcloth says:

      The header piece is actually an older piece but,
      thank you! :)
      I have missed you…Yes, I like that, about guarding
      our hearts and filling them. Maybe that is why I am
      so intrigued with stitching them (hearts).
      <3

  4. Kaye says:

    The heart really comes alive with the additional stitching and beading around the edge. Nicely done.

    • ancientcloth says:

      It is always amazing to me how stitching and
      beading bring a cloth to “life”. The weight
      of the cloth is amazing too! I wish I could hand
      it to you to show you how it changed. It became
      “special” with more stitches and beading. Like
      it was some sort of ceremony cloth. I am still working
      on this piece.

  5. I think “heart ceremony” is a very lovely idea. My dictionary says, in part, that a ceremony is ” the ritual observances and procedures performed at grand and formal occasions.” I love that word “grand,” and maybe we should have more ceremonies for grand things and grand occasions, especially anything to do with the heart! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      “Grand” is a good word…expansive!
      Just as I see our heart, a field of energy/light/love that extends out.
      Ceremonies are good for big and small
      thank you <3
      :)

  6. Jill says:

    Beautiful work, this is coming along so well, it has been fabulous to watch it develop. Love the header too – really striking :)

  7. Dot says:

    Your stitching is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

