Do few things…

I was thinking about a post at Jude’s Spiritcloth blog:

spiritcloth.typepad.com

in the spirit of collaboration

She writes how we  all have the potential to do something well. She talks about doing  a little

of everything dilutes ones efforts.

(It is a fabulous post…definitely a “must read“)

This is something I have begun to think a lot about….

I have a tendency to want to go in all different directions but,

I realize I must focus in order to do what ever it is I decide to do, well.

As I was stitching this morning, I remembered a movie I watched

so long ago that really struck a cord in me.

I can not say that it was a box office hit but, it was beautifully filmed

and for me had a profound effect:

Brother, Sun, Sister Moon

I am on a journey to find my “voice” and learning how to express

myself uniquely. I find inspiration from so many things. There are

those who do it so well and I see that focus is really a big part of it.

The movie is about Saint Francis and the one thing I remember

the most are these words…..

“Do few things and do them well.”

Thank you Jude…you are always an inspiration!

: )

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Do few things…

  1. Deb G says:

    I’ve been thinking a lot about that post of Jude’s too…

  2. mendofleur says:

    I think this is a great post too! But I think I am like you too. I want to do so many things and then it all becomes so diluted. It takes so much discipline and concentration to stay on track, doesn’t it? I believe though that it really is the best way to approach an art form or any thing else that is creative. I will have to go back and re-read this post of Jude’s.

    • ancientcloth says:

      It does take discipline to stay on track but, I think the
      hardest part for me is deciding what to focus on. Sometimes
      I question myself and say, “What is most important?”
      Do I read? Do I stitch? Do I try to put my energy in
      something useful? Do I garden? Exercise? Or do I try to do it all?
      I am sure there is a balance somewhere…lol
      Thank you : )
      <3

  3. I remember this beautiful film too, the music, the flowers landscapes, the wonderful actors, the colours, everything was different in this movie. And of course, Saint Francis’ life is a great inspiration. Yes, jude is right too, a post that gives you a lot to think about, I look at her pictures on flickr, an unending source of inspiration. Your post is very enriching too. Thank you.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Jude is an unending source of inspiration! I always learn
      so much from her : )
      I am happy someone else has seen this beautiful film.
      I just remember “do few things and do them well”
      what a beautiful, simple thought to apply to all areas
      of our life. <3

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

