grow and gather where you are…

CC License View

I have been reading this book.

The author is delightful and has such a great sense of humor.

The book is about how she and her family move from Arizona to

the Appalachian Mountains area, where they own a farm,

to begin living a life of farming and living

locally  or what you might call a journey from the

industrial-food pipeline into a rural life setting.

There they vow to buy only food raised in their neighborhood,

grow it themselves, or learn to live without it.

From the moment I began reading this book I thought

of Deb at beecreative.typepad.com

This book is a must read for those of you who really

want to begin living locally.

Not only is the book fun to read she imparts quite a lot

of information about plants and more.

An excerpt from the book:
“I’ve measured my years by asparagus. I sweated to dig it

into countless yards I was destined to leave behind…for

no better reason than that I believe in vegetables in general.”

Gardeners are widely known and mocked for this

sort of fanaticism, but other people fast or walk long pilgrimmages

to honor the spirit of what they believe makes our world whole

and lovely. If we gardeners can, In the same spirit, put our heels to

the shovel, kneel before a trench holding tender roots, and

then wait three years for an edible incarnation (asparagus)

of the Spring equinox, who’s to make the call between ridiculous and

reverent.”

CC License View

a wip I created in honor of this idea of living locally.

It is called grow and gather where you are.

CC License View

a bird with bird feet…

CC License View

a faint stamped crow to “echo” the other bird…

CC License View

I still have to stitch the words, etc. but

you get the idea.

This entry was posted in art, book, ceremony, embroidery, family, friends, garden, heart, home, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to grow and gather where you are…

  1. Ger says:

    I like your wip… it somehow reminds of the fact that gardening´s hard work too, in the brown earth (or so I guess it is, being a nongardening city person, unfortunately… )

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! :) I like the wip much better in person than I
      do in the photos! I am a gardener “wanna be”. I have
      very little experience. I love city life too!
      I have such compassion for farmers…I know it is hard work.

  2. Deb G says:

    I loved that book! Also love what you are making. You might like her book Small Wonder too.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I will have to put that book on my list to read! Thank you.
      I am stitching the words on that piece today
      and I will have to try to get a better picture of it.

  3. Pamela says:

    Oh, I need to read this! I have just signed up to take part in our city’s brand-new allotment garden, and I’m so excited. My own garden is far too shady for vegetables, so this is my chance to grow my very own!! I need to study up!

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have lived in larger cities and was always happy to see these allotment type
      of gardens. You will definitely enjoy the book! I love her sense of humor
      and she tells wonderful little stories along the way as well as educates you
      about eating and growing seasonally.
      : )

  4. How lovely. You always know how to celebrate where you are!!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you. I am focusing on the word
      “gratitude” at the moment. I know you
      understand what I mean <3

  5. mendofleur says:

    This is such a timely book. I like your translation of the ideas, very organic in form and the colors and fabrics perfect for the elements of the subject. I so love birds too as well as botanical plants.

    • ancientcloth says:

      The funny thing is while at the library one day I just
      happened upon this book. It jumped out at me!
      If you get a chance to read it….I know you will enjoy it.
      The quilt piece looks so much better in person…I do
      not know why (perhaps it is all the busy fabrics I threw together and
      the stitching I did disappears?) but, thank you for your kind words…
      I have missed your visits :)
      I love birds too! I have been hearing a woodpecker every morning,
      when it is not raining. It makes me happy to hear and see them!
      <3

  6. A couple of years ago I was taking care of a neighbor’s cats, and she left this book for me to read. I enjoyed your review very much, and I really should read the book again. Your green and brown and golden colors are perfect choices to honor this down-to-earth subject. I love the bird tracks! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      It was important to me to include the birds because they bring
      a smile to me. I have heard a woodpecker pecking away many
      early mornings and I know spring will be in “full swing” soon.
      I am still reading the book and enjoying it. I seem to have a lot
      of projects going on all at once :)
      Thank you <3

  7. Isabelle says:

    Wonderful book and writer, person ! Barbara Kingsolver is one of my favourite authors, I have read several books from her, this one is precious. And so useful ! Eating veges, fruits from one’s own garden – if possible at all – is a real gift.
    Lovely wip !

    • ancientcloth says:

      I admire her sense of humor and wit. She makes the topic of gardening fun
      and educational. I will have to look for her other books. I agree eating from
      ones own garden is truly a gift…
      Thank you so much for commenting and
      stopping by : )

Leave a Reply

