The Razors Edge

While away I also read this book:

CC License View

CC License View

I saw the movie with Bill Murray, yes that’s right…the funny guy.

I understand that Bill Murray was trying to get this movie done with little

or no success then, came along an offer to make the Movie Ghostbusters.

He made the deal that he would do the movie Ghostbusters if they would

make the film the Razor’s Edge. It was that important to him.

I think it is one of his most brilliant movies.  The movie critics were harsh and mean

but, I never listen to them. In fact, I do the opposite of what they say…They are just one

person with one opinion.

I saw the movie in

1993 and it changed me, in a good way….

CC License View

a scene from the movie…I wish it were in color. He is in Tibet wearing

a beautiful ochre color robe because he is staying at a monastery.

CC License View

a traditional hat he buys from the locals in the movie….

CC License View

my Razor’s Edge hat and gloves {laughing}…

I know I look ridiculous and my hat has fuzz on it but, I like it…lol!

Bill Murray wears gloves like these in the movie.

The movie was profound but, the book was really good.

I realized that the author was writing the book from his

personal experience with Larry Daryl, the main character

and that it was a true story although he

admits to changing names to protect the identity of people.

These words stood out to me from the book:

“Don’t you think he may be pursuing an ideal that is hidden in a cloud

of unknowing-like an astronomer looking for a star that

only a mathematical calculation tells him exist?”

At this point you are probably wondering what I thought was so incredible about

this book and movie….Back when I first saw the movie Bill Murray/Larry

is searching for that ever elusive thing we call “truth”. He gives up the kind

of life everyone expects him to lead and he goes to Tibet and realizes that the truth is not in a

book or anywhere…It is within.

Pretty simple….

I have been stitching and will share some of my new stuff soon…

CC License View

“Mind of its own” (camera) captured a daytime moon the other day…

A daytime moon always amazes me…I don’t know why…it just does.

: )

Have a great day!

This entry was posted in book, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Razors Edge

  1. jude says:

    this is my favorite book. i read it once a year.

    • ancientcloth says:

      : )
      The movie with Bill Murray is my favorite
      movie! Have you seen the movie with him in it?
      I agree, the book is worth reading again and
      again.

      • spiritcloth says:

        yes, it was fabulous…

      • ancientcloth says:

        It remains one of my favorite movies. I think of it often.
        I think of Bill Murray saying how he thought Sophie was his “reward” for trying
        to live a “good” life and how “there is no reward here.
        I love it when he realized that the truth was not in a book or a place…
        good stuff : )
        <3

  2. Deb G says:

    Haven’t read this…will have to soon. My reading list has been getting longer lately.

    • ancientcloth says:

      My reading list is getting long too! As a matter of fact some times I have
      to ask myself, which will I do??? Stitch? or read? : )

  3. Oh, I have not read this book nor even heard of the movie ~ going straight onto my list!! (My list is getting longer and longer, just like Deb’s.) I LOVE that quote from the book you gave us. May I use it in some future post? For I, too, feel I am always looking for something that I only know exists because of the tiniest whispering in my heart. And you look so precious in that hat and those gloves!! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      You can absolutely use the quote. It is from the book.
      : )
      A whisper in the heart is where it is…I like that!
      Beautiful.
      Awww…thank you regarding the picture.
      <3 I look rather
      silly but, that hat is really warm and it reminds me of
      Bill Murray in the movie, The Razors Edge.

  4. Kaye says:

    I haven’t read it either – or seen the film – but on the strength of your post will read the book. Thank you.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! The copyright for the book was in
      1944. So it has been around for a while.
      Let me know what you think
      : )

  5. I’m going to add this movie and book to my list of things to see and read! Adorable photo (: !

    • ancientcloth says:

      It was worth the read and as I mentioned the movie had
      a profound affect for me. Perhaps it was the timing of it all.
      Anyhoo, I think you will enjoy them both and
      thank you {blushing} : )

  6. Looks like a fascinating book, thanks for sharing so much of it. I am into A. Munro’s “Open Secrets” at the moment, beautiful writer, I love her short stories. And you look adorable :)

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you so much {I am blushing}.
      : ) <3
      I have not heard of the book you are reading…will
      have to look for it. Short stories are good.

  7. karen says:

    Hi Marie. Thanks so much for the encouraging words. Sorry to be so secretive, hope you understand. The good thoughts are welcome and it is a good thing that’s happening. Time for a change! Karen

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am happy for you. I knew what ever it was would be good.
      I look forward to hearing the good news when the time
      is right.
      :)

Leave a Reply

