Walking through fire

CC License View

CC License View

a little close up detail…

CC License View

the whole piece…

CC License View

Ok, this is what this piece is all about:

We each face in our day to day life “challenges”

From the most mundane and simple things

to the most complex of issues. For instance,

trying to get somewhere on time but, you just did not make it.

trying to find something, burning the toast, and (you name it).

I call these things of life “fires“,” test “, “challenges” and

I am sure you could think of more names to call them.

Mostly, I just call them the fires of life that we must walk

through and deal with.

I feel at times there is no rhyme or reason to some

of these seemingly simple daily “fires”.

Nothing that I can see in this world gives me a clue.

Like burning the toast, now that is pretty obvious…

You left the toast in the toaster too long.

But, there are some things that have no answer.

I wrote the phrase:

“We carry on our backs the burdens only time reveals”

because I was wondering if some ancient ancestral

event is what causes the “fires” of today????

All I know is I have questions and I do not have

answers. Perhaps, I will not understand….

but, I will never stop asking the questions.

CC License View

(Johnny Dep as the Mad Hatter)

a movie poster I bought.

CC License View

I bought this poster a while back.

It is a promotion poster for Alice In Wonderland.

I love Tim Burton’s work and I felt this picture

represents this world to me.

I think this place is a lot like

Alice in Wonderland….

I want to frame it and hang it.

It is sort of a little creepy but, it is my reminder of this place.

upside down and backwards!!!!

Back to Tim Burton’s work. I am fond of

The Nightmare Before Christmas.

My older son played the lead roll, Jack Skelington in a musical

in his school when he was about 12 or so.

I did not know the child could sing so well!

: )

CC License View

Also, recently featured in this magazine was

Alice in Wonderland Art.

New “link love” found: danitaart.blogspot.com

I love all the Somerset Magazines. They are full of inspiration and great

artist….

certainly worth picking up a copy.

CC License View

Also,” whilst away” I saw this:

CC License View

Lady in the Water

by M. Night Shyamalan

The story was originally written by M. Night Shyamalan as

a bedtime story for his children.

The story inspires viewers to observe the world

around them and consider their purpose on earth.

It offers mystery,  a touch of magic, and a powerful

message in the end.

There is a children’s bedtime story book to go along with the movie.

Lastly, a picture of  two of my girls:

CC License View

CC License View

“Mind of its own” (camera) , and I are finally working together but, I still can

not figure out how to get things back the way they were.

The great thing with cameras and computers is that there is always more

than one way to do things {smiling}.

: )

This entry was posted in art, beading, book, embroidery, fabric, family, heart, home, quilting, recycle, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Walking through fire

  1. Deb G says:

    Some things there aren’t answers for I think. Glad your camera is back to working…so much wonderland to capture. :)

    • ancientcloth says:

      I agree with you about how some things have no
      apparent answers.
      {smiling}, there is a lot of “wonderland” to
      capture : )

  2. Suzanna says:

    I like your fires of life piece a lot, and how arriving late, when you were hoping to be on time, counts as a challenge to acknowledge and work on. I used to get everywhere On Time, but now seem always to be late! I will remember your artwork the next time it happens and I think it will help me be more mindful about time. Thanks!

    • ancientcloth says:

      When I created the “fires” piece I was reflecting over my life and
      the many fires I have walked through.
      I am touched that it was meaningful in some way!
      Thank you <3

  3. I love how you have the red heart sitting upon the two crossed “campfire” sticks ~ wonderful image. And your girls are so beautiful ~ and dramatic ~ young actresses posing for the camera! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      I love that stick fabric! It just” captured” me the minute I saw it.
      I like the earthiness of it and how it adds a hint of brown to whatever
      I am working on. My little girls are so funny and love to take pictures of
      themselves {smiling} , little drama queens…lol!
      Thank you <3

Leave a Reply

