“Sarah deer”

CC License View

CC License View

a little deer…

CC License View

I have been working on my daughter’s purse.

When Sarah was little and still to this day, she is always making

up names for things. We used to  take the children to a hamburger

place when we lived in California and Sarah would ask for “root deer.”

Meaning root beer. The children began all saying it and many times

we tried correcting them but, alas to no avail.

It was too cute. After all they were only 2, 3, and 4.

Those little voices excitedly asking for root deer was

to precious.

Sarah requested I embroider special words on her purse.

CC License View

The butterfly finally stitched on to the pocket of the purse.

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, family, gift, home, quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Sarah deer”

  1. Suzanna says:

    I love the way the roots extend out beyond the circle!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you. I have stitched this same one before for my larger quilt
      because I felt it was an important story of my life.
      The roots beyond the circle is a nice metaphor for life , I think
      : )

  2. Deb G says:

    Very sweet! Both deer and story. Hope your computer/internet issues are about resolved.

  3. I love that deer. He is pretty watchful…looking over his shoulder like that. The whole composition is great!!!

    I love the story. It would be fun to collect stories about words or phrases that our kids made up and how they became important to the family. It is almost like the beginning of a belief or how a language was born.

    Very special.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I love your idea about collecting stories that are important to families.
      Hannah drew that deer for me a long while ago because she did not
      like the one I drew…lol. I just copied what she had drawn and stitched
      over it.
      Thank you!

  4. Awwwww, a root deer, complete with ears and hooves and roots, too. Too sweet! I love the “mistakes” children make, and how they get incorporated into family history. And I love what Quilt Architect said so perfectly above, about belief and language.

    I hope you get up and running again soon! I took off voluntarily for two whole weeks. I had to force myself to not get on the computer!! But I knew I needed a little break. Just wish I could say I had really and truly cleaned my house!! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      It was so-o-o sweet and I wish I could remember more. Too many things have
      been lost in our moves some of which were little memories of sweet little ones. : (
      I love Quilt Architects idea too! I think my daughter requesting those little words
      stitched on her purse for her is holding some of those family memories.
      My little forced brake was good for me but, I am glad to back!
      I have missed everyone! : )

Leave a Reply

