Far East

CC License View

I showed you this piece I had been working on.

A bit of indigo color….

CC License View

CC License View

CC License View

I made this: A Japanese knot bag.

I wanted it to look like a Japanese Boro  cloth.

I found the pattern over a year ago here:

showyourworkings.wordpress.com/2…

by Helen Heath

CC License View

It was a relatively easy bag to make. I would make it a bit larger

the next time by adding more of a seam around the edge.

CC License View

I used a coffee can lid that I trimmed down to stiffen the bottom of the bag.

Simply cut out the round circle and cover in a fabric “pillowcase”.

CC License View

putting the pieces together…

I was thinking about this….

CC License View

CC License View

I read this book a while back: Memoirs of a Geisha and was so

moved by it.  The author so beautifully and in a detailed way describes

Kyoto and the Geisha.

What I remember about the book is the incredible long suffering of the main

character . You see her as having to overcome great difficulties and persevere.

In the end she is “blessed” or rewarded with true love.

I thought of this book when I was making this bag.

I also thought of this too:

CC License View

3 beans…

CC License View

In a day and age where we take things for granted it was not so long ago that fabric was considered “precious”.  People in Japan would patch together bits of fabric until they had created a long roll of cloth. There was a saying to never throw away a piece of fabric if it could wrap 3 beans. Once enough cloth was created an offertory bag was made and filled with azuki beans or rice. The bag would then be placed on the altars of Buddhist Temples. I was so touched by this because I consider each little piece of fabric I get to be “precious.”  I decided to create my own cloth called: © 3 bean cloth

CC License View

another one I made…

This entry was posted in art, book, ceremony, embroidery, fabric, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Far East

  1. I loved both the book and the movie – and your little purse looks so cute!

    • ancientcloth says:

      I will have to rent the movie sometime.
      Thank you! The purse is reversible too, I
      forgot to mention that. Next time I would
      like to make the little purse a bit bigger
      but, on the up-side it forces me to carry
      less. : )

  2. Deb G says:

    Your bag is adorable. The book was a very good one.

  3. Ger says:

    A very fine bag, indeed…

  4. This would be great to carry for small purchases/a recycle retail bag. Seems easy to carry and leaves your hands free if you would like.

    I love the name 3 Bean Bag.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I really am enjoying the little bag. It fits on my wrist comfortably.
      It does leave your hands free. I would just like it a wee bit
      bigger.

      Thanks! : )

  5. This is a beautiful post in many ways. The Japanese knot bag, the mention of this book I have not read yet (will do so, though !) and the wonderful saying I will remember. I have plenty of such pieces of fabrics. Thank you so much !

    • ancientcloth says:

      The book is really intense but, in the end you
      see the beauty. I am sure you will enjoy it.
      Thank you : )

Leave a Reply

