1930s fabric

CC License View

(these are 1930’s reproduction fabrics)

During the 1930’s a quilt revival took place due to the depression

and hard economic times. Women began to gather and quilt

for socialization.

Eleanor Roosevelt began to campaign for the American Arts and Crafts

movement  which  further encouraged women to quilt.

CC License View

When I saw this fabric I thought of my daughter, Taj.

I guess because of her name. This fabric has an exotic feel because of the pyramids and elephants.

She is named after the Taj Mahal.

Her dad had gone there and thought it was so beautiful.

CC License View

This fabric reminds me of moons…

CC License View

interesting squares and stars…

CC License View

a quote from Eleanor Roosevelt that I am stitching onto a cloth

I call,” Be Strong“. I started this last year when I was having

a difficult time and it seems appropriate to finish now.

~~~~~~

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 1930s fabric

  1. I love that Eleanor Roosevelt quote you’ve used. I’ve not heard it before. It’s so true, and it’s just great to see it embroidered!

    • ancientcloth says:

      While staying with a family member over this past summer
      I kept returning to the kitchen to look at a cheerful ceramic
      plaque on the wall. I would read it over and over again and
      finally decided I would stitch it into a cloth and call it, “be strong”.
      Thank you for stopping by and saying hi.
      : )

  2. Deb G says:

    What a great quote that is! I have a few 30’s reproduction fabrics in my collection. They are fun.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Would love to see those 1930’s fabrics if you decide to
      show them. I like the cheerfulness of them.
      That quote is so true! : )

  3. I love these old fabrics, they are so interesting! My mother buys Civil War reproductions to use in her quilts, and they have really different colors and the patterns are much more intricate than nowadays. I would love to see what you are doing with all these great blocks…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have not quite decided what I will do with these yet…
      still thinking about it but, I will share it when I decide.
      hmmm…..will think of something. lol!
      I agree the colors are fun and the patterns are
      so different from what most stores offer.

  4. Ger says:

    Hurrah to the Be Strong Cloth…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think this could be a “motto” for most women!
      I think we (women) are expected to be strong when no one else is….
      : ) Thank you

  5. I the book Dragon Seed by Pearl Buck it says that the woman is the roots and the man the trunk and branches…then the fruit of the tree hangs off of that. The stronger the roots the stronger the tree.

    Nice quilt.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I had a dream last night about a tree and roots!
      “The stronger the roots the stronger the tree”
      I like that!
      Thank you <3

  6. mendofleur says:

    I love that quote. It is a good one to remember during the inevitable times of difficulty. I think that is so sweet that you named your daughter Taj after her father saw the beautiful Taj Mahal. I always think of Jackie Kennedy and Princess Diana sitting in front of it too, beauty before beauty. I think your daughter is a beauty too.

    There is so much to delight in the fabric from the ’30’s.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think I should frame that quilt piece as a good reminder?
      Jackie Kennedy and Princess Diana were two women I admired
      for their grace under adversity.

      Thank you for your kind words about my daughter : )
      She loves Art deco and 1920’s sort of style.
      The 1930’s fabrics are so cheerful. I also learned that feedsacks were made of these cheerful
      fabrics and women collected them and used them for garments and quilts.

  7. Such good moments I spend visiting you ! I love those 1930’s fabrics, exquisite patterns and shades. As for the “Be strong” embroidery, it feels good to read it and look at your way of saying it with such cheerful colours.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh thank you Isa <3
      I like the bright, happy colors too!
      The 1930's fabrics are so cheerful.
      I think women really needed something
      to cheer them up : )

  8. That is a fantastic quote. I love having something really visual and sensual to hold onto, to help in the harder times, and this quote has both of those aspects. And love the 1930’s fabric. I can gaze at photos of fabric as if they were paintings. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you. I like that quote a lot and
      feel it is true. Somehow when faced
      with challenges we get to see that inner
      strength that we did not know was there.
      The 1930’s fabric is fun and cheerful.

  9. karen says:

    gorgeous fabrics Marie!

  10. ancientcloth says:

    They are so happy and fun.
    I look forward to creating something with
    them but, I have not figured that part
    out yet, lol. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

