words and teacup

CC License View

Just stitching words…

CC License View

CC License View

CC License View

CC License View

I found this lovely teacup for my daughter, Taj.

What sold me on it was the lovely flowers on the inside of the teacup.

I like that!

It is a reproduction of china from the Victoria and Albert Museum in London

but, I did not spend very much on it at all.

My first choice would be a thrift store find but, I am not familiar with

them in this area, at this point.

CC License View

Now I can mail her gift…

<3

This is so after the fact but, I thought it was so cute and worth mentioning:

inchmark.squarespace.com/inchmar..

Valentines matchboxes…too cute.

Will have to make next year or maybe at Christmas!

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, family, gift, home, recycle, sewing, tea. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to words and teacup

  1. The stitching is beautiful, and the cup is a wonderful find.
    I used to collect pretty bone china cups, but then decided I didn’t like clutter.
    Also, I used to knit all the time and then gave up, but now I have started to think how much I like wool for knitting. Maybe I should set up a market stall.
    Will keep looking at your posts.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you and thank you for stopping by.
      I love wool too! I have been thinking about
      picking up the crochet needle but, alas,
      there are only so many projects one can do.
      lol.

  2. karen says:

    Hi Marie. Love the embroidered text and my eye is fine now, thankyou so much for asking, Karen

  3. I like that cup, too, with the flowers hidden inside. And the matchbook idea at inchmark is wonderful. I have used little matchbooks on cards before (light my fire, the keeper of the fire, etc.), but I have never covered the boxes with paper or fabric as gift boxes. I’m going to start using that idea for special little gifts, just a note or a poem inside maybe. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      I like that idea of a little note or poem inside the matchboxes! (they were cute!)
      I imagined holding them in my hand and then quietly walking up to someone and opening
      my hand and giving it to them. A tiny treasure. I like that!
      That cup had my favorite colors on it, especially that
      bit of soft turquoise around the top.

  4. mendofleur says:

    Such a sweet gift. The teacup is a gem. New or recycled or found, they are always hard to resist. The little matchbooks are so special, I agree.

    • ancientcloth says:

      The minute I saw that cup I told my other two daughters,
      “Thats the one!”. Lovely and sweet just like my daughter Taj.
      The matchbooks are fun because they could be made for
      any occassion. A sweet note left inside on a pillow, or for
      a birthday or anytime, and easy…I like quick and easy sometimes.
      : )

Leave a Reply

