Friends, frame and a purse…

CC License View

It just seemed this piece (tiny demons), needed additional creatures, of the friendly kind…

so I added a couple of frogs (friends) , who would be “simple observers”. lol.

: )

CC License View

I am adding words….this fabric was flipped to the underside because I liked

the design from that perspective better.

CC License View

After looking at the tiny demons quilt piece I wondered why did I pick

a muslin background??? I could have chosen something a little more colorful…

so, I decided I would frame the main piece with colorful fabrics.

This quilt piece is much larger than it looks: 15″ x 14″ !

I hope to get a better picture of it. I like the way it looks much better “in person”

than in the photographs I have taken so far.

CC License View

My sweet Sarah has been patiently waiting for her…um…Christmas…shhh…purse.

CC License View

You see, I had this “brilliant” idea to stitch all around this fabric and it

is more like a messenger bag…so the piece is large. Well, it is definitely a

slowwww cloth.

CC License View

You can see how I decided to stitch around the design and to add to my

brilliant ideas ,I decided to bead and well, that is next….,

The good news is I did finish stitching around the whole piece of cloth

which took several hours.

Now, back to stitching….

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, fabric, family, gift, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Friends, frame and a purse…

  1. gina says:

    I like the pink purse piece…maybe it can be for Easter? Question: Does cleaning out your garage count as exercise?…(:

    • ancientcloth says:

      The purse is really going to be a lot of different colors. I had her pick all the
      fabrics she liked from my “box of goodies” and then decided which ones we
      could combine. She did not want a purse that was one color. The pink is the flap.
      hmmm, how long do I have till Easter??? lol!
      Ha! cleaning your garage does count as exercise (you are amazing!)
      All that lifting, reaching and bending…I would say that counts as at least 1/2 hour of sweat!
      : )

  2. Suzanna says:

    The whiteness of the muslin really sets off the design of the tiny demons, so there’s a nice background/foreground effect. It looks good.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you. I guess I was thinking I really wanted them to stand out. I am liking the
      added fabric frame and the new friends. It gives it a bit more of color.
      : )

  3. I love the pink fabric. The frogs are give the piece a fun feel to it…maybe we need laughter to combat our demons.

  4. Deb G says:

    Agree about laughter. That bag is worth the wait too.

    • ancientcloth says:

      She will see the bag on my desk and ask me,
      “Soooo, how’s my bag going?? (laughter) and a big smile”
      She is a real sweetheart. Always bubbly and happy : )
      I know she will appreciate the bag when it is done.
      Thank you.

  5. mendofleur says:

    Laughter is essential, a little everyday like an apple. Your little demons are so lively and fun. The addition of the frogs is perfect. (I am wondering if they want to be demons too!)

    The pink bag is a beauty as I know your daughter to be as well.

    • ancientcloth says:

      The little frogs will be “friendly observers”, just watching :)
      I agree we all need more laughter to lighten our days.
      Awww, thank you regarding my daughter and the bag.

  6. Scrolling down that long photo really makes all those little stitches and the time it took to make them more real! Yes, I love whimsy. In your art with all the precious little demons, I very much like how that striped fabric on the far right picks up all the colors. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      That fabric is my favorite piece because it has so many
      colors. I love the lime-y green in it and I am not sure
      you can really see it…but, the word “whirling” is stitched
      in that color.
      That pink flap took such a while to stitch, now I need
      to bead it : )

Leave a Reply

