Charms and a tea cozy

CC License View

I put an old coin next to these two charms so you could see the size they are.

(look Gina, I remembered how to bead around the edge of the heart!!!!

I have not done that in 27 years!)

The tiny frame came empty so, I went through my little collection

of mixed media papers and found a Madonna stamp that

had come off of a Christmas envelope.

CC License View

These antique buttons were a gift to me…<3, thank you!

(you know who you are!)

What is so cool about them is that they were not made to be perfect

and when you look at the button from a side view you can clearly see

that. I love that they were made in Japan. How cool is that?

CC License View

I used the button with beads at the top of the Tea Cozy.

A little beaded velvet heart

CC License View

The front side.

You can see both charms beaded and attached to the Tea Cozy in this photo.

CC License View

(sorry about the glare on the little frame! It was really hard to photograph because of the plastic cover.)

CC License View

The back side of the Tea Cozy.

This is the smallest Tea Cozy I have made but, it still fits comfortably

over a nice size mug or tea cup and saucer.

I am sure my daughter Taj, will appreciate it.

<3

I added a new link: resurrectionfern.typepad.com/res…

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, fabric, family, friends, gift, home, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit, tea. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Charms and a tea cozy

  1. Deb G says:

    It is beautiful! I need to play with my beads more. :)

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! <3
      Beading is how I began my creative endeavors.
      It was so much fun to get into the beads and remember…
      the big difference now is I need strong glasses to see the beads lol.
      : )

  2. Suzanna says:

    It is so lovely. At first I wondered what had become of the angel with the lantern then noticed this is another tea cozy, for a different daughter! They are lucky girls.

    • ancientcloth says:

      thank you! The angel with the lantern is the secret pocket…it is on the inside of this tea
      cozy : ) shhh (secret)
      I do have 3 daughters but, this is still the tea cozy for my daughter Taj.

  3. A tea cozy for a teacup, rather than a teapot ~ I love this! And I love the old-fashioned charms, images, and patterns that you use in your art. Everything about this tea cozy takes me right back to my grandmother’s home. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! I was inspired because I drink a lot of coffee and tea and
      my cup is what gets cold because I made a cozy for my French press
      coffee pot. Some of the fabric I used in this piece are Civil War reproductions.
      : )

  4. This is so adorable and thoughtful ! Your creativity is so inspiring. I wonder where do you get all those special fabrics ?

    • ancientcloth says:

      Well, I have a little “secret” fabric shop I visit and some fabrics
      have been gifted to me. Thank you so much : )
      You inspire me too! <3

Leave a Reply

