patchwork

CC License View

I had planned on doing more fun stitching but, I have had two pair

of jeans needing repair. After doing lots of laundry and organization for

my girls I decided that it was time to get busy and get this little task

done.

As I was looking through my daughters clothes I realized that several

pairs of jeans had holes in the knees. I asked Sarah and Hannah, my

daughters if they would like for me to repair them and they both

looked at me and said, “Mom they came that way…don’t you remember?”

CC License View

“we pay for this?”

CC License View

“Of course, how could I forget?”….

One pair did not come that way and Hannah insisted that they should

remain as they were. (ragged).

CC License View

All I can say is that the denim has character.

: )

All this being said; as I was stitching the jeans last night I thought of Japanese

Boro and a lovely explanation I found was :
“In Japan, mended and patched textiles are referred to as ‘boro‘, or rags. “-Sri Threads

threads.srithreads.com

Jude at Spritcloth also mentioned it yesterday at her blog:

spiritcloth.typepad.com

Also,  this post,because of its lovely stitching,  inspired me to get my denim jeans “patched”…

http://puddleduckfarm.blogspot.com/2010/02/green-eyed-dragon.html

This entry was posted in family, home, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to patchwork

  1. jude says:

    i love that they sell jeans that need to be mended. ha! so funny. i remember yelling at me after i bought jeans and tried to make them look 100 years old. thanks for the link.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am smiling about you trying to make jeans look 100 years old!
      You were doing your “magic”, even then : )
      Your welcome C:

  2. I so need this post! Did you put a piece of denim underneath the tear, and then start your stitches (in that top photo)? I am always clueless as to how to begin. I put the new patch on top, and then stitch from behind. But the hole itself always mystifies me as to what to do with it! Do you over-stitch all around the hole? xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      Stitching denim has always been a challenge for me until I saw a post
      at Puddleduck Farm. (Quite lovely by the way.) She was not stitching pants but, had a piece of denim
      that she put fabric underneath and stitched around. So in answering
      your question, I put a piece of denim underneath the hole and put pins in it and worked
      with one arm in the pant leg and the other arm/hand coming through the pant top.
      I hand stitched around the hole but, not on it. In other words, I left the hole alone just making
      sure that I stitched close to the edge of the hole so that the patch would stay secure. I used 3 strands
      of embroidery thread. Previously, I have stitched denim on the sewing machine with zig zag stitching
      and honestly, I have never been happy with it. Also, I have tried patches over the top of a hole but,
      was never satisfied with that either. So far, I think this is my favorite method. Hope this explains it in a way
      that makes sense. : )
      p.s. you can look at the photo on my blog (it might help), and see how I did it. : )

  3. Kaye says:

    Yes, that’s a lovely way of patching jeans. My husband still tries to make holes in his and won’t let me repair them!

  4. Jacky says:

    Mmmm the distressed/holey jeans…. just this Christmas my son requested a new pair of jeans…full of holes and costing a fortune! How many washes will they last????
    If the fashion trends change we will be deft ‘menders’.
    .Jacky.

Leave a Reply

