Cardamon

CC License View

I was up early this morning and made some wonderful muffins I had found

in a recipe book. I changed the recipe just a little bit to suit myself.

Since I had never made them before I was uncertain how they would

turn out. To my delight, they are delicious!

I went looking for some information about the spice, cardamon and

discovered it is a member of the ginger family..hmm…did not know that and until

recently, Nepal was one of the biggest importers. It is very expensive so, I went

to a local health store and bought some in bulk, meaning you can choose how

much you purchase. I only needed a small amount so that made it very reasonable.

Pear Cardamon Muffins

CC License View

The recipe:

(my version)

2 overripe pears

(I used 1 large can of  pears in a light syrup, I prefer fruit juice)

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup barley flour

( added the barley flour..you can use all purpose instead)

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 sea salt

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg

1/2 cup melted butter

1 cup of the juice from the pear can

( the recipe recommends a can of pear nectar, I substituted the juice from the pear can)

1/2 teaspoon of cardamon

(I will use a whole teaspoon the next time)

Bake @ 375 degrees for 25 minutes.

I did not use paper liners so, I lightly greased the non-stick

muffin tin and spooned the batter in.

I used corn oil.

They turned out really moist and very light and the smell…mmm.

Lastly, I made myself some Spiced Chai tea to have with my muffin.

: )

note: I borrowed the recipe book from the library and will get the title and author  the next time I am there.

On to the all essential house cleaning then stitching…..

This entry was posted in baking, book, cooking, family, home. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cardamon

  1. Oh, goodness I bet your kitchen smelled great! I love to bake and love to try new spices. I will for sure try theses!

  2. Deb G says:

    Yum…sounds very good. I have some cardamon around somewhere for a cookie recipe I wanted to try. Maybe it will just go into some muffins this weekend.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think you will really enjoy these muffins! Let me know what you think about them and
      if you have any improvements to the recipe.
      : )

  3. Thank you for sharing this delicious looking recipe. Cardamon is a spice a like and use a lot, especially with Indian curries but also in some jams or marmelades. Can’t wait to try your muffins :) Lovely pictures too.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Oh, you have said a magic word for me…my favorite food…
      Indian food. I love the vegetarian dishes (korma) with
      the baked bread, chapati. I have not heard of cardamon in jams and
      marmalade but, that sounds divine!

      p.s. thank you regarding the picture…i love that morning light!

  4. Maggs says:

    Variety is the spice of life, love your blog. I’ve been reading and enjoying your posts.

    May I have permission to copy the muffin recipe for my use?

    Thanks…..

Leave a Reply

