roses and the secret pocket

CC License View

My daughter, Taj will be going to college soon and she has a little place

already picked out just for her. I want my gifts to her to be useful and

artistic at the same time. I want them to be something she will enjoy.

I decided for Valentine’s Day I would make her a Tea cup Cozy.

(It will be a little late getting to her, she will not mind…slow cloth.)

CC License View

so, yesterday I finally stitched the roses to the tea cup cozy…

CC License View

and almost finished the butterfly…he needs antennae.

CC License View

This is an angel holding a lamp…

I want her to know that angels are watching over her, lighting her way C:

<3

CC License View

The angel is stitched to a “secret pocket” that will not be seen by anyone but Taj.

I thought I would go ahead and take a picture before I piece the whole cozy

together. I will put a secret message inside, just for her.

I have taken a piece of heavy muslin and stitched around it with

some little stitches, I will write a message with a sharpie, permanent pen.

Carefully, fold it and hide  it in the pocket. shhh!

CC License View

the whole secret pocket panel…

CC License View

closeup of fabric….

have a great day!

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, family, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to roses and the secret pocket

  1. Deb G says:

    Oh what a wonderful gift for your daughter! Love that you have included a secret.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I like happy secrets! Something useful and a little mystery : )
      I think she will be pleasantly surprised. Thank you.

  2. Gina says:

    I love these prints; so old-fashioned and feminine! reminds me of the ones my mom uses for her quilts. Some are Civil War reproductions.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I did not know your mom was a quilter! Yes, some of the fabric are
      Civil War reproductions. I like the old fashioned look and actually
      they are much prettier than some of the new fabrics out there. : )

  3. I recognize that starry-night pattern ~ one of my favorites. I think this is the loveliest gift for your daughter, with secret pockets, and secrets inside the secret pockets. The perfect gift for a daughter going away to school. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      That fabric is one of my favorites too! I love looking at the stars.
      My daughter will have a tiny apartment and each thing needs to be special.
      I want her to have useful and pretty things. Little (love) secrets shared…I like that!
      Thank you : ) <3

  4. Suzanna says:

    This is really lovely…especially the angel holding the lamp. How important that is!

  5. mendofleur says:

    What a special gift this is for her as she heads off to college. The angel will be her guardian I am sure, and the secret pocket will remind her that she has a mother that is there for her always. I love all the fabrics you used. I am sure she will keep this forever.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you! She is such a sweet child and always strives to do her
      best without anyone telling her. I am so proud of her and admire
      her determination. As I was making the tea cozy I was thinking of
      her and I wanted to somehow convey the idea that angels were
      watching over her and I wanted her to know I love her hence, the
      little “secret pocket” idea with the guardian angel. <3 :)

Leave a Reply

