missing socks

I was doing the laundry this morning and I reached into one of my drawers

to put away socks I had washed. I was also hopeful of matching up two of my socks that

were missing mates. Then it dawned on me that last night I had been working on this little fellow and

he would certainly be the kind of character who would play tricks with my socks………

CC License View

When I began stitching the ” little guy” the fabric would

pop up on the opposite end. In would go a needle to hold it down.

I would begin stitching again and up the fabric would pop

in another spot…hmmm????

Ok, more needles put in the fabric.

It just seemed the fabric…ummm creature would not sit still

for me to stitch it. Finally, he became more agreeable

and even likable to a degree.

CC License View

We are still working together….

CC License View

It looks like this” little guy” was sitting in the shadows  laughing about the whole thing.

CC License View

My local library found this book that Kari

writingupastorm.typepad.com

recommended. It is delightful and heartwarming.

CC License View

This was my favorite page and words because, it reminds me of how I love

my children and holding them may comfort them but, it comforts my heart too!

(I know…the picture is too light.)

CC License View

Imagination!

This entry was posted in art, book, embroidery, fabric, family, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to missing socks

  1. Suzanna says:

    These little green and red guys are wonderful! They are so lively. Regarding the socks…sometimes I am glad when one sock disappears because then, especially if it is the kind with designs woven in, I feel ok about cutting up the other one and using the designs on a cloth. But of course then the mate will reappear and a little guilt will set in.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I give myself a really long time before I give up on the socks. lol
      I know they are hiding in someone else s pant leg or pajamas : )
      The little “tiny demons” have been fun to stitch. Thank you.

  2. Gina says:

    I love Tommie de Paola’s art in children’s books – so sweet. Your sock monster visits here occasionally…

  3. Deb G says:

    Your monsters are adorable. The sock monster lives at my house too. Her name is Lola.

  4. Adorable tiny demons :) they know where the socks are !

  5. mendofleur says:

    Your sock creatures are wonderful, so full of fun and character. Great!!!

  6. Hey! You have that sock problem too?! Our cats play with them and place them on my daughter’s pillow as ‘sock offerings to the Queen of Cats’!

    That little green guy reminds me of a bunyip!

    Sandi

    • ancientcloth says:

      I love that….”sock offering to the Queen of Cats”….
      I am laughing. I am going to have to look up the word
      “bunyip”…sounds fascinating : )

  7. Yes, I love your mischievous little creatures, too. Love those teeth! And I am so pleased you liked The Quilt Story, too. I really think now, that the two little girls are related, for there is, I think, a family portrait of the first little girl behind the bed of the second girl in the next to last illustration. And aren’t Tomie dePaola’s pictures wonderful? I adore his art! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have felt as I was stitching them I could imagine all the little funny,
      sneaky things they do! The Quilt Story is such a sweet story and I met
      a new blog friend who has a real life Quilt Story…Look under my comments
      under : Family clothes and read Sandi Manning/ Puddleduckfarm.blogspot.com/
      comment….a real life Quilt Story…touching! <3

      p.s. I have been missing you…thank you for stopping by : )
      you always brighten my day!

      • Thank you! I’ve been trying to unclutter my boxroom during my solemn “writer’s wretreat,” but it is very hard not to peek at what everyone is doing out there in blogland. I will try to get back on track next week. Yes, I finally did find Sandi’s story about her quilt ~ so sweet! xo Kari

      • ancientcloth says:

        Glad you could “sneek out” of the boxroom for a peek!
        Your visits are like sunshine : )
        Is’nt that a lovely story about the quilt? Sooo sweet.

Leave a Reply

