how to slow down…

how to slow down

CC License View

CC License View

(my version of this idea embroidered with black thread on muslin.)

I have wanted to do a little line drawing embroidery since I got this book.

CC License View

CC License View

a whole view.

CC License View

This book was given to me as a gift.  A heart felt thank you….<3 (you know who you are!)

It is from 1971.

The title pretty much sums up the book…Living on the Earth.

It has everything in it, from building a shelter, making soap,

making bread, making clothes, candles, cooking, gardening,

first aid, milking a cow and what to do with the milk, herbal remedies and so much more.

Every time I look at the book, I see something new.

But, what makes this book so fascinating is that  every page

is handwritten and all of the drawings are line drawings.

A lot of heart and soul went into this book.

CC License View

look to the right….the book only cost $3.95, hard to believe!

CC License View

a line drawing of a girl with a bamboo flute.

CC License View

CC License View

a bird…

CC License View

on the front cover…I think it is a little dear or dog licking their young???

CC License View

Living on the Earth…

by alicia bay laurel

This entry was posted in art, book, embroidery, fabric, family, garden, gift, music, nature, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to how to slow down…

  1. Deb G says:

    How sweet those illustrations are! Looks like a great book.

    • ancientcloth says:

      When I saw the gardening part in this book, I thought of you!
      As a matter of fact that are a lot of parts in this book I think you might like.
      There is even canning and pie making! : )

  2. I love your line embroideries. You are just always doing what I am thinking about doing…but never do.

    I am very intrigued by the book as well. Very appropriate for the times we live in…”Time to get back to the GARDEN” – Joni Mitchel.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Awww…thank you! : )
      Great minds think alike. ; )
      I agree about very appropriate for now…yep! time to get back to the garden.
      <3

  3. Kaye says:

    Really like the line drawings, very fluid and simple but also very effective.

Leave a Reply

