Jaquar Woman and the butterflies

CC License View

I just finished reading this book that is a part of the Medicine Woman series.

I so enjoy Lynn Andrews books because she writes in a way that is easy to

follow along.  This story is about her reclaiming her personal power as a woman.

This is a paragraph from the next to the last page:

Lynn says, “And what does the butterfly represent, Anges (her Native American  teacher)?

Agnes searched my face with kind eyes, “I remember when I was  young, a little girl,

some old people told me a story that I believe to this day. They said that Great Spirit

had made the butterfly to show us how to live.”

“And how is that?”, Agnes?

“The life of the caterpillar transforms into another life- the beautiful butterfly.

It teaches us that all of life is transitory. The butterfly is enlightened! Another gift from Great Spirit.

You see they are the ancestor spirits, and they have returned to the Butterfly Tree.”……


CC License View

The interesting thing is I have been working on these pieces before I ever picked out

this book from the library and I always find synchronicity fascinating.

CC License View

I guess it is those little things that happen that I try to pay attention to that

let me know I am doing the right thing, at the  right time.

p.s. Kari, thank you for inspiring me to pick up books again!

writingupastorm.typepad.com

This entry was posted in art, book, embroidery, fabric, gift, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jaquar Woman and the butterflies

  1. Deb G says:

    I love that about butterflies…that they transform. Books can provide so much inspiration.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have been so “hungry” to learn and be inspired and turning back to books has been
      a good thing for me. Butterflies always make me smile. When I lived, where Kari lives,
      I had such magical experiences with butterflies. Waves and Waves of Monarchs….
      Once while attending a Scottish bagpipe festival in the woods the Waves of Monarch
      butterflies came! Unbelievable! Listening to the music of the bagpipes and seeing the
      butterflies in a forest.

  2. I like how synchronicity happens when we least expect it. It is like markings on the path.
    Nice butterfly and a bright background that looks happy.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I agree with you about synchronicity! It almost seems like someone
      knows the answers before we do and they leave a clue : )
      …hmmm? I am working on the two butterfly cloths for a gift to Taj.
      I want her to pick which one she likes best before I assemble the gift.

  3. P.S. You are so welcome, but I think it is you who are reminding me! This “butterfly tree” book looks very enticing. I love the message of the butterfly, too. It helps so much when we are in our cocoons, wondering if we will ever amount to anything, to imagine our butterfly wings. I love that rose pattern with the little nine-dot squares on it, like a nine-patch, only different. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      I had this book many years ago when my children were babies and I just
      could not get into it. It was not the right time…This time I read the book in
      only a couple of days! I so agree with your words about it helps to imagine our
      butterfly wings. This “cocoon” thing is not so easy sometimes. : )
      Roses are a favorite of mine.

  4. mendofleur says:

    Butterflies represent so much that is hopeful and promising and maybe mystical. It seems you are on a very enlightened path. I would say that the butterfly would be a powerful symbolic metaphor for you. These images are beautiful, always a little deeper than meets the eye.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think you are right about the butterfly…It is a powerful
      symbol for me. Generally, each thing I make is something that
      relates to my life in some way. Be it spiritual, etc.
      Thank you : )

  5. I believe that many events happen for a reason, may we see it at first or not. Your pretty butterfly must have flown right out of your book :) I love the paragraph you shared. Thank you.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I am glad you liked the paragraph. Have you ever been reading something and
      it seems to “stand out or up” from the book? You know it is important….I believe
      that all things happen for a reason too : )

Leave a Reply

