Children

CC License View

I finished this quilt piece from last year.

When my children were born and small little tots I always felt the presence of a

larger than life lioness walking around me.

Perhaps it was my maternal instinct to protect my children.

CC License View

Also, I knew they each had a guardian angel so, that was a definite idea

to include.

CC License View

I stitched their names onto the cloth.

No spirit cloth or personal quilt for myself would be complete

without my children somehow represented.

I hold each one of them in my heart.

Each one of them is so unique and beautiful and have taught me so much.

I treasure each day with them.

CC License View

I have often been very hesitant to show my children…

the other side of me.

Like the other side of the quilt piece.

But, that is all part of the piece and all a part of me.

CC License View

So here they are…

CC License View

This is Shaun, he is 24.

CC License View

This is Taj, named after the Taj Mahal.

She is 18.

CC License View

This is William, he is 13, and doing a project for school.

CC License View

This is Hannah, 11 and Sarah 12.

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Children

  1. jude says:

    never hesitate. the other side is where the answers are.

  2. Deb G says:

    Jude’s words are so true… Love your lion.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I never really thought about it but, Jude is right. One must
      move through and face fears and make it your ally. Right?
      I think that lion face turned out cheerful and that reminds
      me of my children. Thank you. : )

  3. Your quiver is full…as it says about children in the Psalms. I like your lion playful but true to her principles. I like what Jude said as well.
    Your children a beautiful and you have a lot to be proud of….you are a proud lion!!!

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have been blessed when it comes to my children.
      I am always amazed by them. I am proud of them and Ha!
      I am a lioness! lol. Thank you.

  4. mendofleur says:

    What beautiful children you have! What a treat to be able to see them. I agree with jude and Deb that the other side is where the answers are. I know what you mean about feeling like a lioness protecting her cubs. It surprised me when this was suddenly revealed, and it was on the other side that it had been hidden, I think, until it was called forth.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you for your kind words regarding the children. I am learning how
      to be brave and look at the other side. Jude made an excellent point.
      Something I had not really thought of…I so treasure this circle of women
      who share art, life and wisdom. I have learned so much. Thank you. : )

  5. Your children are soooooo beautiful ~ they take after their mom! Thank you for letting us have a peek at them. And I want to steal that sunburst lion’s mane ~ I love that idea of long rectangles, instead of the usual curly waves or triangular points, to make that kind of sunburst effect. It’s very effective and fun and colorful. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      Awww…thank you : ) You always “touch” me with your kind words!
      I love that you want to use the idea of the lion mane…please do!
      It was so much fun to do because of all the cheerful colors. xo

Leave a Reply

