Phylum of Angels

CC License View

I am still working on the quilt pieces  from last year that needed to be finished.

I have mentioned before that I was into  the study of angels at the time so, a lot of my pieces reflect that topic.

The different levels of angels is only to differentiate the task.

One is not a higher order

than another.

It is said that we each have at least one guardian angel .

Call on your angels, even silently, and they are right there by your side.

It is said that angels are primary protectors, especially over children.

No matter what your beliefs, I can tell you there have been times

I know I was kept safe and out of harms way by

something beyond what I could see with

my eyes.

Sometimes people are like angels

Have you ever had someone appear just at the right moment

and helped in an unexpected way and the timing was so

perfect?

CC License View

The wings were that part that needed to be finished. It is hard to see in this picture

but, there are faint stars on the fabric that I stitched over to highlight them and the

edges of the wings were embroidered over.

CC License View

The whole piece.

CC License View

This book has been around a while, but I love the recycle aspect of it

She talks about re-using and re-purposing  furniture, clothing, dishes,etc.

The pictures are fun to look at and the inspiration endless.

She shows you how to use what you have on hand or

objects/furniture that can be re purposed

easily to create your own sanctuary.

vintage garments

textiles

home furnishings

Lovely…

This entry was posted in art, book, embroidery, fabric, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Phylum of Angels

  1. Yes, I, too, believe in angels. I love that line from a Francis Thompson poem: “The angels keep their ancient places. Turn but a stone and start a wing.” I love your feathers, especially the way you have tipped them with color ~ very lovely! xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      The words from that poem are so beautiful. I will have to read
      the whole thing. Thank you. I really like the added color too.
      It keeps me interested. Thank you : )

  2. mendofleur says:

    I agree. Shabby Chic perhaps started this way of thinking, and perhaps we owe her more credit because of this.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think she is English and this trend started in Europe and she brought it here?
      Let me know if you ever hear differently.

  3. mendofleur says:

    Yes, I too believe in angels. There is a guardian….it helps us to get by in so many ways. I am lucky to be alive, and I know it was for a reason.

    Your piece is so beautiful and so is your idea. I also admire all the stitching that goes into these pieces. The blue color is perfect and the feathers delicate and yet strong in their insight.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have heard from so many people about their personal experiences and to me it
      is such a comfort. I actually did this piece so I could remember the different
      angels, like writing myself some notes or something.

Leave a Reply

