You were right…

CC License View

I finished “ascension”.

One of my daughters has a recording on her phone of me saying to her,

“You were right, and I was wrong.”

Now… she delights in pulling that recording of my voice out

and playing it for me on a regular basis. Lol.

It came about because she is always telling me “Mom, you should….

and it could be any number of things she suggest and ya know

she is usually RIGHT!

All of that being said…those of you who suggested leaving the edges frayed

were RIGHT!

: )    Thank you.

CC License View

On the right  side I left the edges frayed, which I liked so much better.

I had already finished the majority  of the other side so I left it as it was.

The angel edges are left to fray as well.

I like the frayed edges because it gives a more ethereal quality.

Also, the frayed edges seems like the wings are “singed”

CC License View

A closeup of the wings, spiral and angel.

I have learned a lot from this experience…One, is the continued theme

of “letting go” and letting the edges be frayed, after all life is that way. Right?

Secondly, I used fabric I had on hand at the time and it was a cheaper quality

fabric. It is better to use a higher quality fabric, even if it means recycling

an old garment.

Thank you ladies…I am humbled….

: )

CC License View

Changing the subject….

I was at our local Starbuck’s and they have a bookshelf where

you can give and take books for free.

This book was there and it practically jumped off the shelf at me.

Needless to say, I am reading it.

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You were right…

  1. gina says:

    Please post a review after you read this – I am always looking for great books. Right now I a m reading Mitch Albom’s latest, “Have a little Faith”. Would love to find a book swap!

  2. Deb G says:

    Maybe your angel was meant to have slightly different wings…

    • ancientcloth says:

      I actually like the difference. Thank you for your suggestions.
      Now she looks like she has had a “rugged” journey but, has triumphed. : )

  3. mendofleur says:

    I like Deb’s comment above. I do like the frayed edges too, but I think one side frayed, the other not is good. It gives the angel a little mysterious feature and leaves one wondering and pondering that surely this was meant to be and that there is a deeper meaning behind the appearance.

    I have not read this book, but know that it was a best seller for quite some time a long time ago.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Perhaps the angel has had a “rugged” journey and faced many
      challenges? I actually like the frayed side better.
      I had one of these books many years ago and began reading
      it but, never finished it. I recall that what I read was very good.

  4. I like the name “ascension”. Everything looks really balanced and then you come in closer and see the differences… very artistic.

Leave a Reply

