roses and acsension

CC License View

working on roses again….

I have been stitching the edges of this print with various colors of

thread to highlight the roses.

CC License View

a “cabbage” rose

CC License View

a different view….

CC License View

This is a piece called “ascension”

Websters dictionary: 1.rising or increasing to higher levels, values or degrees.

2. rising upward…

CC License View

This is one of my older pieces that I started and never finished…

As you can see I have all of the edges to embroider.

CC License View

I am working on a hoop because it is a little larger than most pieces.

Generally, I work free hand.

CC License View

If you look closely on the right wing; there is a lot of fraying because I used

OsnaburgĀ  fabric. I love the texture of it. The nubbyness but, it is not great for the fraying

as it is a “cheap” fabric that does not hold up that well. I remember that is all I had at

the time and I was trying to make do and use what I had. As I was stitching the edges

I thought someday the wings on this

will surely need new fabric layered over them.

Perhaps by then the cloth will have many stories to tell….

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, nature, quilting, recycle, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to roses and acsension

  1. I actually love the fraying part, it makes things like wings seem more real, I think. More likely to take off in flight and ascend! And I love how your stitches are enhancing that cabbage rose. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      I think those wings will become like the “velveteen rabbit” over time : )
      It is amazing how a few stitches can bring a cloth to “life”. Thank you x

  2. Deb G says:

    I like a little fray too, for texture. Looks good!

    • ancientcloth says:

      I agree. I do like texture but, if I leave the wings undone it would disintegrate too quickly.
      I will have to find other places to leave a frayed edge on.
      Thank you : )

  3. mendofleur says:

    The rose piece is exquisite. The ascension piece is very strong, and I agree with Deb and Kari that the fraying is such a nice element to include. You mentioned one of my favorite books of all time, The Velveteen Rabbit. Letting something weather over time gives it a little soul and character. You have two nice pieces to work on as the days turn longer.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I love roses. I am learning to” let go” when it comes to the edges.
      : )
      The Velveteen Rabbit is one of my favorite children s books. I was given
      the book as a gift when I was 18 by a dear friend (she said I was like the Velveteen rabbit to her.
      Is’nt that the sweetest thing ever?), and then as my children came along
      it was shared with them. I will be busy for sure. Thank you.

  4. iHanna says:

    You keep buisy! The roses and those stitches around the edge are so adorable, who doesn’t love romantic roses like these? Great sewing, now I’m inspired! :-)

    • ancientcloth says:

      My new favorite thing is using variegated threads and different colored
      threads while working. It helps keep me interested in the project.
      Speaking of busy…you are amazing! Love your new paper sewing project : ).

Leave a Reply

