7 angels and planets continued….

CC License View

Last year I was reading several books about angels…

CC License View

There are many different beliefs about them….

CC License View

angels…

CC License View

When I was a little girl I would go to my grandmother’s house and

look at a photo hung in her living room.

It was an angel watching over children crossing over a bridge.

I do not know the name of the picture or who painted it but,

It is a popular one.

I do not remember a lot of things about my grandmother Tommie

(my dads mother)

because she passed over when I was still young but I have never

forgotten her picture of the angel watching over children  and her aprons and quilting.

<3

CC License View

These are some books a friend loaned me at the time and they

were what inspired me to create this quilt piece.

It is the Archangel Michael standing over the planets and above him

7 names of other angels.

CC License View

CC License View

CC License View

CC License View

This means so many different things to me. I will say that  I believe in angels

on so many different levels and ways…

: )

This entry was posted in art, book, embroidery, fabric, quilting, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 7 angels and planets continued….

  1. Wow, this is a powerful piece and you have done a beautiful job stitching it. I like all the names recorded. I also like how you positioned the sun and the planets. Just a great design.

    I also believe in angels and I think that when we especially need them they make their presence felt.
    Maybe they even facilitate our meeting other people?

    • ancientcloth says:

      I just remember at the time seeing it so clearly in my mind….
      what I wanted to create. It has a lot of meanings. Thank you.
      Yes, of course they direct us to people….
      : )

  2. karen says:

    oh I so believe in angels. Just saying the word ”angel” is comforting.

  3. mendofleur says:

    This wonderful piece definitely came through you in a most organic and intimate way. I like the stance of the angel, the feeling of its presence as strong and steady. All the wonderful stitching you did and the words…it is a very special piece.

    I am drawn to angels too. I think it is because of the gentle comfort that one feels with that kind of presence. I have a old folk-style painting I will post on my blog sometime. I think you would like this angel as much as I have.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I believe we are each given guardian angels. I imagine them as strong, therefore, I wanted
      a strong looking angel with a steady foot. I wanted to add individual feathers to the wings but,
      I felt it would be too time consuming and the flannel I used at the time is not that durable.
      Thank you for your kind words : )
      I look forward to seeing your angel picture. I am
      sure I will love it!

Leave a Reply

