Collecting paper “bits” and stitching…

CC License View

I have been collecting bits of paper for a project I showed you a while back…

CC License View

I had a large box of mixed media things but it was lost in the last move…

CC License View

a turquoise jewelry stamp!

CC License View

bits of paper….

CC License View

For this tiny book.

CC License View

It will be a gift for my oldest daughter.

Obviously, I am not in a hurry to finish it.

I want it to unfold in its own time and part of the

process is being patient enough to gather what is needed.

A slow journey…

CC License View

I have been stitching in lighter colors.

I think I am attracted to them now due to the long winter.

I want lighter and brighter colors…

CC License View

I had fun using various colors of thread for this part. The fabric is a batik.

There are faint balls of light imprinted on the fabric.

CC License View

The eyes are truly “the window to the soul”.

This entry was posted in art, embroidery, fabric, gift, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Collecting paper “bits” and stitching…

  1. mendofleur says:

    I collect bits and pieces of paper too. The images often are so lovely that one cannot throw them out. What you are doing with them is going to be meaningful and so beautiful. And “slowly” will add to the enjoyment of the process.

    The stitching and colors of the next piece are soothing. I like the eye you embroidered and the quote. How true and significant.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have had to discipline myself to only save what is really meaningful to me.
      I agree, it is hard to throw out lovely images.
      Like you, I have always collected pictures of things that inspire me. I go back
      over and over and always see new things.
      I really enjoyed stitching the lighter colors. With so many gray days one needs
      “light.” : ) Thank you.

  2. Ger says:

    Great eye… wonder what´s at the end of the tunnel behind it…

    • ancientcloth says:

      That’s a great question : )
      (a mystery for sure).
      I stitched this cloth for a friend and I ask her
      to give me some symbols
      that were meaningful to her.
      It is interesting, because when I have made cloths for friends and
      asked them for symbols they usually choose the “eye”.
      : )

  3. Your little book will be so magical ~ a perfect place to keep small scraps like stamps and quotes. I, too, hate to throw away almost anything. My husband and I are both packrats and it is not the best thing for living an uncluttered life, but we are always thinking we might want something for a project!

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you : )
      The great thing about being a packrat is that you always have what you need (smiling)
      when you need it.
      I have moved so many times that I have forced myself to declutter just because I do not
      want to move it : )

  4. julia moore says:

    Hey, I used to have a book of that turquoise jewelry stamp too. I put it on all my letters to people I love. Your little book for your daughter is such a loving idea. My daughter made me a journal once, and she pasted pictures and words randomly on the corner, or in the middle, of some pages throughout the book. I would find them as I went along writing in the book. (I was good and didn’t peek ahead.) It felt like a hundred gifts from her, not just one. Your daughter will love it.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Your daughters gift was filled with love : )
      My daughter and I adore turquoise and silver jewelry and the minute
      I saw that stamp, I thought “perfect”.
      She will be surprised….

  5. We all seem to keep a precious box with little bits of things that attract us for some reason and that one day will find their true meaning for the right person. This booklet will be such a treasure in its own time:) Beautiful blue eye looking at your project !

    • ancientcloth says:

      I have noticed that artist have a tendency to “collect” beautiful bits of things and “stuff”. lol.
      The little book is for my oldest daughter….I know she will appreciate it.
      The blue eye is part of a cloth that holds symbols someone chose…a gift.
      Thank you : )

Leave a Reply

