Life before my eyes…

CC License View

One of my daughter’s ask me to make her a purse for Christmas and I have

begun. As I was stitching beads and little embroidery stitches I looked at the

fabric and all I could think of is how the stitching and beading gave such “life” to the

fabric. If you look at the left hand side of the fabric you can see a very small amount

of  beading and stitching…then look at the right side of the picture.

OK, I know it is a little thing but, it was an ah- ha moment. (laughing)

CC License View

CC License View

This entry was posted in art, beading, embroidery, gift, quilting, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Life before my eyes…

  1. julia moore says:

    Ah-ha moments are the best. I think I know what you mean, sometimes they are so subtle its hard to explain how strongly they have affected you. I can see what you were getting at in your photo. I think you are bringing the cloth to life with the touch of your own spirit, through your creativity. Its the difference between following a how-to quilting pattern and playing with it to give it a personality. Some people still don’t get that.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I agree about ah-ha moments. I did a lot more beading and stitching after I took the photo and
      the “life” of the cloth was even more apparent to me. I guess the change in how it looked was
      “striking” to me. I have seen it before but, for some reason it just “stood out” this time…
      Thank you for your comment.
      : )

  2. Deb G says:

    Oh these are happy colors! Yes to the beading adding more. Rather like my stripy socks or Jude’s combination of her weaving and piecing.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I like happy colors! I will be adding a lot more stitching and beading to this one.
      Love both the variegated thread and the alternating ones on your socks! You are sooo talented!
      Jude’s work is just magical. So much texture.

  3. Yes, I love the idea of giving “life” to fabric. When I am cutting an animal out of calico, I love watching it come to life as the scissors cut through the fabric. First the ears, then the nose, then the paws and the tail. xo Kari

    • ancientcloth says:

      That always happens when I am stitching a doll. When I finally embroider or paint
      the face I am always surprised at the personality that appears.
      : )

  4. The personality of the cloth…now that is a whole new way of looking at spirit cloths. It is like a sculptor who looks at a rock and chisels out the person or frees the animal within. So we take needle and thread and free the personality within the cloth. Such a beautiful word picture.

    • ancientcloth says:

      I used to know a well known sculptor so your analogy rings
      so true. He actually gave me a box of paint brushes and paints
      with the condition that I use them. That is how I began painting!

Leave a Reply

