butterfly moon

CC License View

A couple of nights ago I looked up to a clear, cold sky and saw the moon…

CC License View

I decided to snap a few shots.

CC License View

Because we had a foot and 1/2 of snow yesterday I was thinking about the beautiful

moon and stars the other night and a butterfly emerging from it or into it…I stitched it.

This entry was posted in art, nature, quilting, sewing, spirit. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to butterfly moon

  1. Deb G says:

    Beautiful butterfly, beautiful moon. One good thing about all the cold clear weather we’ve had has been being able to see the moon change each night. Might be snow today.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Thank you so much. I would like to show the whole picture but it is a present.
      But, I will say the butterfly is at a door and on either side are moons with eclipses.
      Yes, I agree when it is crisp and clear you can see all the changes…nice : )

  2. arlijohn says:

    How creative and I’m glad someone else sees the marvelous in the ordinary.

  3. It is really hard to wrap my head around how much snow you have had. It has been so sunny here lately and to think you and most of the country is buried in snow is just hard to think about. I know that it is pretty…but I also know that it will probably not melt till April. I hope you have a mud room…I think those are the coolest features of New England houses.
    I like the Butterfly. One day you will emerge from the cold tomb of winter into spring…just like the butterfly.

    • ancientcloth says:

      It is funny because one day sunny and the next snow!!!! Lots of it. It is charming to look at but, reality is that
      you have to shovel your drive, clean the cars off, roads must be cleared, etc. You get the picture and you know
      what it is like. Well, we have a small entry but several boot trays! I have seen some fabulous mud rooms!
      You are right…once the snow leaves we do emerge like a butterfly. Suddenly, you see neighbors you have not
      seen in months! : )

  4. julia moore says:

    Those moon photos remind me of silk cocoons, just the same shape and color, hazy silk filaments softening the outline of the bean shaped inner moons. And look what popped out! A Butterfly, maybe she is a silk butterfly. The colors are wonderful, warm, creamy moon yellow and pitch cold night black. Beautiful.

    • ancientcloth says:

      What a lovely perspective. I would not have thought of silk cocoons. That reminds me of when
      I was a little girl. My teacher brought us silk cocoons and the class was able to observe the
      worms spinning the cocoon. I was so fascinated by this. Thank you so much. : )

Leave a Reply

