Lips

CC License View

I made some clay lips from Sculpey clay for the doll.

I was pleased with the way the lips looked but not with the way they looked on the doll.

They were not laying flat against the cloth.

I decided I would stitch some cloth  lips to the doll…..

but, I was not satisfied with that either…..

CC License View

I decided to make her a clay heart….

CC License View

I like her legs….

CC License View

and finally, smaller clay lips that fit on the fabric nicely.

I know she is a little “wacky” but, I think it is kind of fun that her eyes are buttons

that are made from nuts, and her hair is floral wire and her lips

are clay.  The dress fabric is a Batik.

She is approx. 27″ long and she can hang on the wall…

like art.

: )

Update: the first batch of Christmas postcards went out in the mail this week.

Mr. Postman was telling me how he has seen unusual things in the mail…like a painted coconut.

We laughed about it but, he was intrigued with my hand stitched postcards.

It was really inexpensive to mail them and when I think about how little

fabric it took to make them the only thing it really cost was my time.

Not bad…

: )

This entry was posted in art, doll, embroidery, sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lips

  1. Deb G says:

    She is a lot of fun! Of course, the first thing that came to mind when I saw the lips was “a moment on the lips, a life time on the hips.” :)

  2. julia moore says:

    My first thought upon seeing the top photos was, I’ve just received a kiss!
    I like dolly’s graphic/optic qualities, not a lot of colors, just lots of personality.
    Your postcard idea is so thoughtful. I’m stealing it for next year.

    • ancientcloth says:

      Nice…yes big kisses! Thank you. I am happy you are inspired by the postcard idea for next year.
      I think that is awesome…
      : )

  3. Your doll is so sweet and creative. I like the legs too. Looks like you have been having a lot of fun.

    Your blog makes me smile…
    And I am thankful.

Leave a Reply

